Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
blainec
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 3:42 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Calgary, AB
Contact:

CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby blainec » Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:19 am

We you be adding the meteotemplate API to MX anytime soon?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26318
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby steve » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:20 am

Not any time soon, no, if at all.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
HRVistaWeather
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Location: Franklin, Huon Valley, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby HRVistaWeather » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:46 am

Hi,
This is purely my opinion on the API approach, and by no means a condemnation of it.

1: If one looks at the Meteotemplate proposed standard, being ;
"Meteotemplate API enables sending data to the template. Because Meteotemplate uses its own database, it can calculate all the statistics itslef and so values needed for the API are always just the current conditions. Some of these are saved to the database, others might only be used by some blocks and plugins."
Note: (taken from : http://www.meteotemplate.com/web/wiki/wikiAPI.php) you will see it states that all it needs is "values needed for the API are always just the current conditions", this I find to be a major issue in that there is no way a Daily/Monthly/Yearly (Total/Mean/High/Low/Avg/) can be correctly aligned with your Stations Record Values, primarily based on User Uploaded Timeliness of the previously mentioned "Current Conditions". (have a think about that = 1/5/10/etc minute intervals) and not the by second actual's from and stored by your Station and CumulusMX, it just uses the Current Conditions at Upload Time, so the actual (High/Low/Max/Min) Values and their actual Times are more than likely missed.

2: if you have / as many do, another Template running on your site (say/Cumulus Standard/Saratoga/Leuven/etc) compare your record's (Totals/Min/Max/High/Low/Avg/etc/ and even your NOAA against the plugins/noaaReport/index.php)!.

In addition to that, if you are running CumulusMX and MySql, you already have the Data in a Database, why not use it with Metetemplate !.

Kind regards,
Tony
https://southfranklinweather.com
Image
Huon River Vista - South Franklin Weather - Tasmania
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus - FARS, Cumulus MX, 2 Soil Temp/Moist Solar/Rad.
Back Online : 2017-11-01

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby PaulMy » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:42 pm

I am using Meteotemplate (without API) and everything seems well with my data. I've just compared Now (Current) and Today high and low for temp, humidity, hPa, and wind gust and all the same in my Cumulus template, Saratoga, Leuven, HomeWeather, and Meteotemplate. Thanks to each of their authors to make them available to us to use as we wish.

And, I also have the Cumulus dayfile and realtime data in a MySQL up to date, and my monthly whenever I manually import a new month, so have lots of data to use.

Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby PaulMy » Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:33 pm

Hi Tony,
I've had a more detailed look at the data and was shocked on the difference in the Meteotemplate MySQL alldata table max day wind gust compared to what the station recorded. My max wind gust was March 8th 2017 at 85.7 kmh.
This shows in the dayfile.txt and also in the realtime.txt both imported to MySQL dayfile and realtime tables as at 10:03.
In the Meteotemplate MySQL alldata table it shows 45.0 kmh for that day.
Of the 10 days in March 2017 I checked, only one day had the same max gust in Meteotemplate as in Cumulus Dayfile.

Enjoy,
Paul

jachym
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:47 pm
Weather Station: WH 1080
Operating System: Win XP
Location: Czech republic

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby jachym » Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:46 pm

This is not an issue with other SW, Tony please avoid making conclusions without fully understanding how this works.

Wind gust works fine with the other SW which directly support the API (MB, WD etc.) because they send aggregated values.

Eg:
If user sets update interval to 1 minute, then these programs send avg temp, wind and humidity over the last minute, the maximum gust, maximum rain rate etc. If you set updates to 5 mins, it would send the maximum gust over last 5 mins, average temp etc etc. So it works fine and will be accurate.

However because in case of Cumulus it relies on realtime and FTP, the only way to get the most accurate results is to have the intervals set to extremely short times. But thats nothing I can solve from MT perspective.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26318
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby steve » Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:28 pm

This is not an issue with other web site templates ;)
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

jachym
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:47 pm
Weather Station: WH 1080
Operating System: Win XP
Location: Czech republic

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby jachym » Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:05 pm

Correct, because they use all data from realtime, MT uses its own database and calculates things by itself, which also has many advantages.

I could argue that it is not an issue with other SW, but I dont want to argue with you. Because MT works differently compared to the other templates, it needs different way of updates. Neither approach is better or worse, but the one used by Cumulus currently is not ideal for MT, I never said it is.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5017
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Meteotemplate API

Postby mcrossley » Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:07 pm

As an outside observer, it seems that MT could do with using a custom tag file that also contains today's highs/lows so it can accurately record them rather than relying on realtime.txt as has limited data available. That file could be additional and read less frequently, or replace realtime.txt as I do for SS gauges with realtimegauges.txt. Actually realtimegauges.txt probably contains most of what is required.

I know that departs from how MT works and would require special handling for Cumulus... :roll:


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests