Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

PressOffset

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
malmeida
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Raspbian

PressOffset

Postby malmeida » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:40 pm

I have a Maplin N96GY weather station running with Cumulus MX v.3.0.0, build 3043 script 2.5.3.0 and I compared the pressure values of Cumulus with an official station nearby. My values were 8.5 hPa lower. As it seems that it is not possible to calibrate the Maplin station, I stopped Cumulus, and edited cumulus.ini PressOffset, changing from zero to 8. The differences between both stations didn't changed. I stopped cumulus again and changed PressOffset from 8 to 16. There were no differences changes. My station keep with pressure values 8.5 hPa below the ones from the official station. What can I do?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby steve » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:19 pm

You probably need to set the relative pressure on your station (i.e. calibrate it). Instructions are in the manual.

I don't know why the pressure offset apparently didn't have any effect, perhaps you made a mistake editing cumulus.ini - the normal way to change the setting would be to use the MX user interface, perhaps you had a reason for not using that.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

malmeida
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: PressOffset

Postby malmeida » Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:23 pm

I increased the relative pressure in the station display by 8.4 hPa but the situation keeps the same: my pressure values still are 8.2 bellow the official station values.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby steve » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:06 pm

Is your station now showing the desired figure (when you have ‘rel’ selected)? If so, have you restarted Cumulus after changing the setting in your console?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

malmeida
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: PressOffset

Postby malmeida » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:53 pm

After restarting CumulusMX, the Pressure values of Cumulus are still 8.2 bellow. I don´t know what are the values of the station because I am far away from it. When I go there I will check it
Meanwhile I would like to add some other tables and graphs to the site. For that I followed the instructions of ImportCumulsFile, editing and uploading the php file. When I try "http://www.scomba.co.uk/ImportCumulusFile.php?type=dayfile&key=mypassword&file=Out17log.txt", I receive:
Running from web server
Script start: 13/11/17 - 18:42:44
Importing file: Out17log.txt, To table: Diario ...
Failed to connect to the database server - Access denied for user 'scomba'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
If I use another password I receive:
Running from web server
Error: Failed security key check:the password

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby steve » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:09 pm

If you zip up and attach the latest file from the MXdiags folder, I’ll take a look.

Regarding the database problem, I think you are using my hosting? I will have to have a look on my laptop to see what I have set up for you. I would have sent you a username and password when I set up the database for you, those are the ones you are using, not your ftp credentials?

You seem to be trying to populate the dayfile table using a monthly log rather than dayfile.txt.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

sfws
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: off-line Fine Offset plus others
Operating System: off-line Vista and W10 PCs
Location: UK

Re: PressOffset

Postby sfws » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:18 pm

malmeida wrote:ImportCumulusFile.php?type=dayfile&key=mypassword&file=Out17log.txt"
...
Error: Failed security key check:the password

Mark knows that ImportCumulusFile.php script better than me, but I think "key=" is something internal to that script. I believe you define in the script an extra key (known only to you) and then the script checks that you quote that key to try to prevent someone else who has a copy of the script running it against your database. In the Wiki it gives an example
http://www.myserver.com/ImportCumulusFile.php?type=dayfile&key=letmein&file=./data/Jan10log.txt
and I think that example is totally wrong as I agree with Steve that you have specified the wrong file= parameter for the input. I believe if type=dayfile, then file=dayfile.txt.

This is nothing to do with the username and password that was supplied for your database (by Steve or whoever), note that username and password does not appear in the query-string. I believe Mark suggests that you use the "require" command within PHP to include those details from a separate script in a secure location and not in the ImportCumulusFile.php script that could possibly be intercepted.
Last edited by sfws on Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby steve » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:24 pm

I think perhaps the example in the wiki has the same problem - specifying a monthly log for the dayfile?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

sfws
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: off-line Fine Offset plus others
Operating System: off-line Vista and W10 PCs
Location: UK

Re: PressOffset

Postby sfws » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:28 pm

I realised that and edited my post to say that as you were adding your post!

Mark - have a look at the Wiki - all the edits on that page are by you!

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby steve » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:27 pm

Manuel, there was no database associated with your web hosting account, and I couldn't find a record of you asking for one to be created, apologies if I've missed it. I've created one for you and sent you a private message with the details. Note that you will need to edit any scripts you use so that they use your database name.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby mcrossley » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:19 pm

sfws wrote:I realised that and edited my post to say that as you were adding your post!

Mark - have a look at the Wiki - all the edits on that page are by you!

Wiki fixed, but I haven't looked in the script itself as the header also contains example usages iirc.

malmeida
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: PressOffset

Postby malmeida » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:55 am

When the station shows 1020,9hPa, official station shows 1019,92hPa. When Cumulus/now shows 1012,6hPa official station shows 1020,12hPa. When Cumulus/graphs shows 1012,6hPa official station shows 1020,12hPa.

malmeida
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: PressOffset

Postby malmeida » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:16 pm

Here are the last MXdiags.
20171113-214302.zip
20171112-153903.zip
20171111-120356.zip
20171104-222005.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: PressOffset

Postby steve » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:24 pm

I’m confused. If those are the latest four diags files, you haven’t actually had any data from Cumulus since you restarted it after you first posted in this thread, so I don’t understand where you are getting the readings from that you have quoted.

On all of the restarts after 5th November, Cumulus has been unable to connect to your station - “Fine Offset station not found”. So you have a communication problem with your station.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

malmeida
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: PressOffset

Postby malmeida » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:21 pm

I have restarted CumulusMX but it still doesn´t comunicate with the station. The values in the dashboard are zero.


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests