Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Address already in use

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
Bidou
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:43 am
Weather Station: aercus WS2083
Operating System: MAC OSX 10.10.5

System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Address already in use

Postby Bidou » Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:41 am

Hello,

I'm a brand new Cumulus user and think I have managed to stuff it all up already. I have seen the post on address already in use and couldn't quite figure it out.

Here's what I did:
1. I installed CumulusMX following the instructions, I'm a first time user, with a recent weather station. It seemed to work and I had some readings (after initialisation) but I couldn't see the history (I have had the instrument logging for a couple months now).
2. I looked at the FAQs and changed the today.ini file to an older date (against the warnings). That didn't seem to work and the terminal seemed to hang, but I still had data there. I forced close, rested today.ini to the current date, but of course the damage was done.
3. I deleted CumulusMX totally and reinstalled. That's when I got the terminal already in use error. I tried to close port 8998 with no success (see screen grab - could be the wrong way as I had to google it). I also tried to run CumulusMX with port 9999 with no success either.

Attached the screen-shot of the mess, and also a zip of MXdiags as the error message recommends.

I'm using Mac OS X 10.10.5 and the weather station is acres WS2083. I'm a pretty basic user.

thanks in advance for you help and patience.

Sophie
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26313
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Address already in use

Postby steve » Tue Nov 28, 2017 4:24 pm

It looks like it’s the web socket port which the system says is already in use - 8002

Have you tried rebooting before starting MX?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Bidou
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:43 am
Weather Station: aercus WS2083
Operating System: MAC OSX 10.10.5

Re: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Address already in use

Postby Bidou » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:31 am

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the quick reply. That worked fine thanks, I should have thought about it. I re-started, did the setup again and the program exited nicely. I started the program again and got a heap of errors, attached. I could see my instrument on the page, with the same readings as on the instrument. When I tried to exit the program hung up on me when trying to exit, in a similar way to last time. Shows on the screen print.

So it might be in the setup. I have an aercus WS2083. I chose "fine offset" and USB/serial, my units, data log to 30 minutes, my latitude and longitude (generally following the aercus instructions on their website). I checked a couple of the option boxes further down: average speed and dew point calculation I think.

Any further suggestions?

thanks

Sophie

Screen Shot 2017-11-29 at 7.26.49 pm.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26313
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Address already in use

Postby steve » Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:39 am

This is a known problem in the usb library which MX uses, with later versions of Mono, as it happens there has just been a post about it, and it may get fixed shortly - see the thread “lack of updates”
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: billy and 6 guests