Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
jgatech
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:21 pm
Weather Station: Daivs Vantage Pro2 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 10

Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby jgatech » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:17 am

I am trying to move from Cumulus 1 (1.9.4) to CumulusMX (3043) and I can't get my Davis Vantage Pro2 to connect. CumulusMX throws the error cannot connect to station. But, Cumulus 1 works just fine. I tried with copying MX over Cumulus 1, I tried fresh CumulusMX with Cumulus 1 data copied over, and also just fresh CumulusMX install. The MX Diag file shows an issue with max baud rate. Attached is my latest diag log. Any ideas?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26625
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby steve » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:53 am

Cumulus opens the port with a baud rate of 19200 bps but the system software is saying that the max your serial port can go is 10751. That sounds spurious and it probably needs setting correctly somehow - don’t know how you do that I’m afraid, Google may help.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Frederik Fjellerup
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:08 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby Frederik Fjellerup » Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:49 pm

Hi
Im having the exact same problem. Davis Vantage Pro2 with USB link running with the USB to Serial driver.
Only my log file reports max BaudRate to 6644 and after reboot 10864.
/Frederik

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26625
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby steve » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:28 am

You could try the latest drivers from Silicon Labs, might help. I think there’s a link in the FAQ if you don’t know how to find them.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Frederik Fjellerup
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:08 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby Frederik Fjellerup » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:21 am

Hi
I all ready had latest driver from Silicon Labs installed and it worked with Cumulus v1, but not MX. Changing back to previous driver has solved the problem for me.
I followed this procedure (not sure if all steps are needed):
-Uninstalled driver v10.1.1 "CP210x_Universal_Windows_Driver v10.1.1" from installed "Apps". It is dated 2017-11-15 and for Win 10.
-Uninstalled the virtual COM3 port in "Device Manager".
-Disconnected Davis USB cable
-Installed driver v6.7.5 "CP210x_Windows_Drivers v6.7.5". It is dated 2017-10-13 and for Win 7..10.
-Reconnected Davis USB cable
For info i only tried the x64 drivers. You can check date/version of the current driver in "Device Manager".
Best Regards /Frederik

Frederik Fjellerup
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:08 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby Frederik Fjellerup » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:26 am

And Steve - Thanks for the help :)

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26625
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby steve » Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:37 am

I don’t think 6.7.5 is the previous version, it’s the latest version of a different driver. But hopefully this will be useful for anyone else with a similar problem.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Frederik Fjellerup
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:08 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby Frederik Fjellerup » Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:59 am

The release notes of v10.1.1 shows v6.7.5 as previous version with only this change:
MCUSW-134 | Fixed an issue with handling of IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_WAIT_MASK,
| IOCTL_SERIAL_WAIT_ON_MASK, with the SERIAL_EV_RXCHAR event
| and data arriving from the device into the driver. Previously,
| an indication of arriving data was made before making the data
| available, causing, in some conditions, subsequent requests for
| data after notification of data available to not deliver any data.
A little strange to jump from v6 to v10. Anyway step back worked for me.
/Frederik
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26625
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 to Cumulus MX Davis Vantage Pro2 Cannot Connect

Postby steve » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:49 pm

Ah, OK.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests