IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Notice for those using MX and making some MySQL changes

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
BigOkie
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Notice for those using MX and making some MySQL changes

Postby BigOkie » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:33 pm

Thought I would document a defect I found (don't worry Steve I'm not calling for a fix, just noting for other users) that involves decommisioning MySQL in MX.

Last week I took my MySQL server offline while I shuffle hardware around. In doing so, I deactivated MySQL on MX (obviously) and blanked out every field. It appears that MX changes the port value to '-1' when blanking out all fields. Over the course of the following days I noticed my hi/low values were not being updated in today.ini properly. I thought maybe I had a faulty disk (RPI3, so I thought maybe the SD card was going bad) so I did some moving and swapping. Nothing.

Finally, I started MX manually (I had been allowing the script provided in the forum to start it) and it threw an exception related to MySQL and a port value I think. I was so tired doing it I didn't copy it down.

I went back to my backup config files from before and though "populate port field with the MySQL default (3306)". I did that and restarted and all was well.

So note: even if you are not running a mysql server, it appears that the default port value needs to be in there (or ostensibly some other non zero or non negative value) or you may have problems starting MySQL, as well as freezing your high/low values at the point before you set the port value to the zero or negative value)

Just a heads up to those who may have had issue with this.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26696
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Notice for those using MX and making some MySQL changes

Postby steve » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:56 pm

It's because it initialises the objects for the 'custom' sql operations without checking that 'enabled' is set, which it does for the 'non custom' ones. I'm not sure why I didn't put the check in, but presumably the component code throws an exception if an invalid port number is supplied.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests