IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX - now solved

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
martinu
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX - now solved

Postby martinu » Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:16 am

On Cumulus 1.9.4 etc,the temperature graph displayed various temperatures (actual, heat index, dew point, apparent temp) but individual lines could be turned on or off by the web site owner (me!). I chose to turn off heat index and apparent temp, so as to make the actual temp line stand out better and reduce clutter.

On Cumulus MX, all the lines are available to be turned on or off by the user, which is even better. However, is there a way for the site owner to set the initial default state of the lines (visible/hidden) when the Trends page is displayed, so some lines are hidden (to reduce clutter) but the user can still turn on the display of those lines if he wants?

Likewise, is it possible for the site owner to customise what colours are used for the various lines on a graph? For example, to use pale colours for derived lines and a bold colours for actual ext/int temperatures.


What is happening about ongoing support and bug-fixing for Cumulus now that Steve has retired? Will anyone else be able to take over development and enhancement to carry on his excellent work? Is there any chance that any bugs will be fixed - for example the one which always displays 24 hours of data on the graphs irrespective of what period is set in the Settings page?
Last edited by martinu on Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26697
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX

Postby steve » Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:24 pm

I’m not sure the options you mention exist, but I would have to look at the code to confirm, when I next have my laptop out.

I don’t remember the bug you mention, can you point me at the thread where this was reported, so I can see what my response was? I’m pretty sure the setting is in use and working for some users at least.

I’ve posted several times about the future of Cumulus, but to repeat, I am still supporting Cumulus as far as being active in the forum is concerned; I may start to develop Cumulus again myself before too long, or I may release the source code. Or neither of those, I have yet to decide.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

BCJKiwi
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX

Postby BCJKiwi » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:43 pm

Have
settings / station / settings / graphs / graph hours set to 51
and
settings / station / settings / graphs / graph days set to 32

Both work fine and as far as I recall always have.
https://silveracorn.nz/cumulus/trends.php

martinu
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX

Postby martinu » Fri Sep 28, 2018 8:50 am

The Graph Hours setting doesn't work for me. http://www.martinunderwood.f9.co.uk/Weather/trends.htm shows 24 hours, even though I've increased the value to 48 or even 51 and then restarted CumulusMX.

Likewise Graph Days is staying at 31 - even though I've modified it to 60 or 20, the earliest date is still 28 August, 31 days ago.

Is there anything else I need to do after changing these values, other than stopping and restarting sudo mono CumulusMX.exe. I've confirmed that the changed values are being written to the ini file: after restarting Cumulus and going back to the config page, it shows the new values. Weird.

I presumed it was "Graph data loaded from logs at start up is always for last 24 hours rather than configured period - should be fixed in 3031" on viewtopic.php?f=27&t=12943 but if other people are not having a problem, maybe that relates to a different problem.

(PS: When you look at the page, it won't have updated since about 09:50 because I'm about to connect the weather station back to the PC that is running Cumulus 1)

martinu
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX

Postby martinu » Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:03 am

Cancel my previous post! It does work, but there seems to be a delay of several minutes between restarting Cumulus after changing a value and the graph changing its scale. It's not due to the trends.htm page not updating or the browser caching an old page, because I can see that the timestamp at the top of the page changes every minute (I set it to a short time so I'd see the effect of config changes sooner!).

Is it plausible that my browser could show an updated htm page (with up-to-date time) and yet the graphs on that page are not redrawn for a while after that?

At least I know that it does work, as long as I allow for not seeing results immediately!

water01
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX

Postby water01 » Fri Sep 28, 2018 2:45 pm

Quite plausible if the page was cached in your browser and the Internet settings were not set to always reload from the server and therefore used the cached copy.

martinu
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX

Postby martinu » Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:46 pm

I went hunting in the code, and I've found how to alter the default state of the lines on (for example) the temperature graph. Fortunately it's in a .js file; my worry was that it was in a file that had been compiled and was therefore inaccessible without industrial-strength reverse-engineering :-)

The file that you alter is CumulusMX/webfiles/js/cumuluscharts.js. Usual precaution: save a copy of the file before modifying it!


Temperature Graph

I wanted to change which lines were visible by default on the temperature graph.

Starting on line 134 is a list of the lines, as defined in the legend below the graph. By default, all are displayed except the last one, "Inside", which has an extra attribute ", visible: false". I removed that line and added it for most of the other lines (Dew Point, Apparent, Wind Chill and Heat Index), giving:

series: [{
name: 'Temperature',
zIndex: 99
}, {
name: 'Dew Point',
visible: false
}, {
name: 'Apparent',
visible: false
}, {
name: 'Wind Chill',
visible: false
}, {
name: 'Heat Index',
visible: false
}, {
name: 'Inside'
}],


Rainfall Graph

I also find that on the Rainfall graph, the solid fill for the cumulative rainfall tends to mask the rainfall rate, so I changed this:

Line 626 (or thereabouts) has:

name: 'Daily rain',
type: 'area',
yAxis: 1,
tooltip: {valueSuffix: config.rain.units}

and I changed "area" to "line", as for the Rain Rate graph defined just above it. Ideally I'd have liked to fill the area with a paler shade of the same hue (green) but I've not found a way of modifying colours yet.


Uploading the modified file

Finally, upload that file over the top of the existing one in ./web/js on your web server.

sfws
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX - now solved

Postby sfws » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:52 am

martinu wrote:Ideally I'd have liked to fill the area with a paler shade of the same hue (green) but I've not found a way of modifying colours yet.


EXAMPLE: http://jsfiddle.net/gh/get/library/pure ... olor-area/
SYNTAX: https://api.highcharts.com/highcharts/plotOptions.area

martinu
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX - now solved

Postby martinu » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:42 am

sfws wrote:
martinu wrote:Ideally I'd have liked to fill the area with a paler shade of the same hue (green) but I've not found a way of modifying colours yet.


EXAMPLE: http://jsfiddle.net/gh/get/library/pure ... olor-area/
SYNTAX: https://api.highcharts.com/highcharts/plotOptions.area

Thanks for that. I'll investigate further now I've got links to the documentation.

martinu
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Re: Customising which lines are displayed on graphs for Cumulus MX - now solved

Postby martinu » Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:00 pm

Here are a couple more tweaks which I've made which people might like to take advantage of:

1) The x-axis lists the time of day for the graphs. It typically shows labels such as "19 Oct, 04:00, 08:00, ..., 20:00, 20 Oct" - all in the same size and colour of text. I've modified it so the date (denoting "00:00") is a different colour, so the changeover from one day to the next is more obvious.

Look for lines

dateTimeLabelFormats:
{
day: '%e %b',
week: '%e %b %y',
month: '%b %y',
year: '%Y'
},

and change the "day" line to

day: '<span style="fill: red;">%e %b</span>',

For completeness you could do the week, month and year formats as well.

There is one of these for each graph, except the daily temp and rainfall graphs which don't need the change.

The change is more useful if you've changed your graph period from the default 24 hours to 48 hours, when there could be data from up to three different days and it is more important to be able to distinguish them at a glance.

Note that I also reversed the order of month and day - I think it was originally "%b %e" US format. Or maybe that was in the tooltip section everywhere.


2) I've reduced the opacity of the fill in the green Rainfall area chart so the blue Rainfall Rate line shows through it better.

In the doRain function, find the lines:

series: [
{
name: 'Rainfall Rate',
type: 'line',
yAxis: 0,
tooltip:
{
valueSuffix: ' ' + config.rain.units + '/hr'
}

},
{
name: 'Rainfall Today',
type: 'area',
yAxis: 1,
fillOpacity: 0.2, // so Rainfall Rate line shows through the fill of Rainfall Today
tooltip:
{
valueSuffix: ' ' + config.rain.units
}
}],

and add the fillOpacity line that I've highlighted.


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests