Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Share your Cumulus MX user interface here
PaulJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:25 pm
Weather Station: WMR200
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Suffolk

Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby PaulJ » Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:46 am

I have been thinking about how Cumulus MX, (which I like a lot and is proving very reliable), might be able to add the data from my extra sensor, (I use it in the green house so it is important to me), in the form of both a chart for recent values, (overnight especially), and a current reading. I use the WMR200 weather station. I did post this yesterday just before Steve closed the 'what is missing between MX and regular Cumulus', and my thoughts were planning to then ask the following:
1. If I were to put significant effort into learning more about HTML, Javascript, JQUERY, JSON etc would I be able to create a sub section that was somewhat self contained, leveraging existing MX sub routines to achieve my outline goals mentioned above? On the face of it the data already exists as it can be accessed via the extra sensors tab for pretty much current temperature and via the extra data logs for the last 24 hours, (and more in fact). I do have some spare time for sure and long ago used to be a programmer but pre-internet of any shape or form!
2. What might be the limitations of taking this approach, as in what might I not be able to achieve, rather than the obvious downside of creating an awkward to maintain addition and the possibility I might spend much time achieving nothing, ( which I accept).
3. Would there be any top down outline guidance on the best approach?
4. Is this an activity that Steve has reservations about - in which case I would not want to cross whatever line exists.

thanks to anyone who has read this and might have any useful input for me at this early stage.
Paul

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26250
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby steve » Sun Nov 01, 2015 11:44 am

I would offer to include fetching the recent extra temp data in the interface in the next build, but this would require a lot of code to maintain the data in Cumulus in the first place, and as users with extra temp sensors are a small minority, it's not really the best use of my limited time.

I suspect the most straightforward method would be to populate an SQL database using the 'Custom SQL' facility, and then drive a Highcharts chart from that.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

stu_iow
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:23 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby stu_iow » Sat Nov 07, 2015 3:12 pm

I too request extra sensors integrated as PaulJ has suggested.

I would be happy to donate towards the CumulusMX project (late December/early jan) if this would help.
Running CumulusMX on a RPI2. Coming over straight from using WD for 10 years.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26250
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby steve » Sat Nov 07, 2015 3:58 pm

stu_iow wrote:I too request extra sensors integrated as PaulJ has suggested.

I would be happy to donate towards the CumulusMX project (late December/early jan) if this would help.

The best thing to do is to create an enhancement request (there may be one already) and then at some point I may get around to looking at it.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26250
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby steve » Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:54 pm

Paul - thanks for adding an enhancement request for this. Just to clarify, this is not a feature that is currently in Cumulus 1, which is what the now-closed thread was asking for, and I am (for the most part) prioritising adding Cumulus 1 features to MX first before I go on to consider completely new enhancements. I still have some way to go with making MX do everything that Cumulus 1 does.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

philpugh
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian (RPi) 3.18.11-v7
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby philpugh » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 pm

Been looking into this with a view to adding UV and solar info in addition to the data from my vantagevue, I have built the crudest of sensors to test out my idea which is to add the data into a table in the mysql database. I think that this will work but my investigations have led me to cobble together a new web interface that only uses data fom the database. Ie no reliance on files from cumulusmx other than the info it puts into the database. The advantage for me is that my mysql database runs on one of my raid1 NAS boxes. It's coming on slowly but I think it will be a solution for me.

The additional sensors are connected via an Arduino and raspberry pi. In theory any number of additional sensors types can be added.

philpugh
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian (RPi) 3.18.11-v7
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby philpugh » Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:27 pm

I now have a very simple web site up on the signature below.

This does not have any data transfer from CumulusMX to the web server. All station data retrieved from MySQL database running on a Raid 1 NAS server. Will keep on developing from time to time.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1548
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby PaulMy » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:12 pm

Very nicely done!

Enjoy,
Paul

freddie
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 17.04)
Location: Hyssington, Powys, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby freddie » Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:54 pm

philpugh wrote:I now have a very simple web site up on the signature below.
Nice site. Where is the data for? There is no indication of this...
Freddie
Image

philpugh
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian (RPi) 3.18.11-v7
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby philpugh » Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:16 am

Thanks for the comments - sorry - the data is for Antrobus in Cheshire, UK. Never got around to putting that in the header :bash:

Edit - fixed now!

freddie
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 17.04)
Location: Hyssington, Powys, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor(s) development possibility

Postby freddie » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:06 pm

philpugh wrote:fixed now!
Nice one. I guessed it was for Antrobus looking at your sig - but didn't like to assume!
Freddie
Image


Return to “Customisation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest