Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Steelseries Upgrade.

Share your Cumulus MX user interface here
Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:07 am

Just upgraded my SteelSeries Gauges from 2.5.5 to 2.5.18.

Still using the existing gaugesT.htm; uploaded just \css, \images & \scripts to my site.

All seemed to work; edited my gauges ranges etc, but noticed this:-

Temp popup shows Ok, so do most others.

Capture.JPG


But Solar & UV look like this.

Capture2.JPG

What have I missed or done wrong?

Thanks

Phil.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:29 am

Also notice now the scale on the pop-up is wrong.

It shows we approached zero; in actual fact Min & Max were about 22 & 33/

Phil.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26256
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby steve » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:57 am

Where are you getting the graphs from - are you using Mark's PHP scripts?

It's probably better to post questions about the Steelseries gauges in the Steelseries section - this isn't really about MX customisation, although Mark will hopefully read this anyway, as he's obviously the expert.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:45 pm

steve wrote:Where are you getting the graphs from - are you using Mark's PHP scripts?


Thanks Steve,

I know nothing about the PHP scripts, & it looks like the pop-ups are not working properly.

I simply copied the entire contents of the folders listed below from the SteelSeries-Weather-Gauges-master.zip to my site overwriting what was there.

Wasn't even expecting to see the pop-up graphs, was thinking they were a bonus, but they obviously need more setup.

Thanks

Phil.

PS,

Should have realised this belonged in the SteelSeries area.....

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26256
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby steve » Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:51 pm

Cumulus MX doesn't generate any static images, so there are no graph images available for the pop-up option that the Steelseries gauges offer. So, you can either turn off the pop-ups in the gauges.js file, or use the alternative that Mark has provided - http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13189

The pop-up images that you do have showing are presumably left over from running Cumulus 1.9.4 and are hence not current anyway.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:26 pm

Thanks Steve,

I'm re-reading that thread now,

http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13189

Trying to make sense of it... Bit out of my depth.

Am I correct that I need this uploaded for starters?

https://github.com/mcrossley/Cumulus-MX-Gauge-Graphs

And do those directories belong in the root of my weather site?
IE /public_html/weather?

Phil.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26256
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby steve » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:36 pm

It's two years (to the day, apparently) since I installed them, I no longer run Cumulus, and I don't currently have easy access to my (dormant) Cumulus web site, so I'm afraid I'm not able to offer any help with this, sorry.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:17 pm

No worries Steve,

I'm trying to make sense of it all.
This sort of stuff is not my fields, but there are parallels.

When you say you no longer run Cumulus, I presume you mean version 1?

I am running MX here.

Would be good if some of the others with a better understanding could make some updated changes in the Wiki to help us green users.

Understand though that nothing is a "Paid" contribution here & that everyone has to meet their means.

Hope the travelling is going well. Not much of an attraction to that pastime here at present, given the 35°C temps.


Cheers

Phil.

Edit:-

One last thing, am I correct in assuming I already have the required json files being processed, given I see this on my site?

Capture.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Toxic17 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:25 pm

I have had a look at these two running CumulusMX but couldnt figure out what went where are no real guide exists.

Phil, Steve does not run Cumulus as he is enjoying his retirement at present touring Britain.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby mcrossley » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:28 pm

To which folder on your server have you uploaded the graph files? - I'm assuming you are using the JSON version?

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:24 pm

mcrossley wrote:To which folder on your server have you uploaded the graph files? - I'm assuming you are using the JSON version?


Hi Mark,

At this stage I haven't yet uploaded either your scripts OR the JPgraphs package as I'm not sure precisely where they belong.

The JSON version is what I believe I need, but it's there correct paths within my /weather/ directory that I'm not sure of.

Site currently looks like this:-

Capture.JPG


So do your scripts go in the root (/weather/), or in a subdirectory off the root.

Same question for JPGraphs?

Do they belong in /weather/jpgraphs/ or can they go in /weather/lib/jpgraphs/?

Phil.

Edit the old images that are currently being displayed are in /weather/images/
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:05 am

I'm at this point now...

I have the contents of /jpgraph/src/ in /public_html/weather/jpgraph/
And Marks Php files for JSON in /public_html/weather/


Code: Select all

############################################################################
# CONFIGURATION INFORMATION
############################################################################
$GRAPH['version']        = '1.5';
$GRAPH['width']          = 600;
$GRAPH['height']         = 300;
$GRAPH['jsonloc']        = ' /home/inv49478/public_html/weather/';         // NOTE: This is the *server* operating system path to the file, so unless you have added
                                        // the web folder to your PHP path, it will be something like "/home/<userid>/www/"
$GRAPH['jpgraphloc']     = '/home/inv49478/public_html/weather/jpgraph/'; // NOTE: Same path type as json above
$GRAPH['cachetime']      = 10;
$GRAPH['rosePoints']     = 16;  // 8 or 16
$GRAPH['roseSize']       = 400;
// Localised Compass point array
$GRAPH['compass']        = array('N','NNE','NE','ENE','E','ESE','SE','SSE','S','SSW','SW','WSW','W','WNW','NW','NNW');
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------



But this, http://weather.inverellit.com/graphHumOut.php

Gives me this page of errors...

Code: Select all

Warning: include(/home/inv49478/public_html/weather/jpgraph/jpgraph.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/inv49478/public_html/weather/graphSettings.php on line 34

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '/home/inv49478/public_html/weather/jpgraph/jpgraph.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/inv49478/public_html/weather/graphSettings.php on line 34

Warning: include(/home/inv49478/public_html/weather/jpgraph/jpgraph_line.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/inv49478/public_html/weather/graphSettings.php on line 35

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '/home/inv49478/public_html/weather/jpgraph/jpgraph_line.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/inv49478/public_html/weather/graphSettings.php on line 35

Warning: include(/home/inv49478/public_html/weather/jpgraph/jpgraph_scatter.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/inv49478/public_html/weather/graphSettings.php on line 36

...
...


Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

Thanks

Phil.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:55 am

Ok,

Slowly progressing,

I now have:-

http://weather.inverellit.com/graphTempOut.php and http://weather.inverellit.com/graphWindRose.php

showing these images on a page, I'm just not seeming to get new png files created.

Capture.JPG


Capture2.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Phil23 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:45 am

Think I've finally got it almost sorted.

Am I correct in saying the script files belong in the images directory?
That's where I have them now.

And for the benefit of others like me, who aren't really up on this stuff, the gauges.js file meeds to be edited down below line 203?

Like this? To run the scripts, rather than load the png.

Code: Select all

                // Cumulus
                realtimeVer = 12;   //minimum version of the realtime JSON file required
                config.realTimeURL = config.longPoll ? config.realTimeUrlLongPoll : config.realTimeUrlCumulus;
                // the trend images to be used for the pop-up data, used in conjunction with config.imgPathURL
                // by default this is configured for the Cumulus 'standard' web site
                // ** If you specify one image in a sub-array, then you MUST provide images for all the other sub-elements
                config.tipImgs = [                                       // config.tipImgs for Cumulus users using the 'default' weather site
                    ['graphTempOut.php', 'graphTempIn.php'],             // Temperature: outdoor, indoor
                    // Temperature: dewpoint, apparent, windChill, heatIndex, humidex
                    ['graphTempOut.php', 'graphTempOut.php', 'graphTempOut.php', 'graphTempOut.php', 'graphTempOut.php'],
                    'graphRain.php',                                     // Rainfall
                    'graphRrate.php',                                    // Rainfall rate
                    ['graphHumOut.php', 'graphHumIn.php'],               // Humidity: outdoor, indoor
                    'graphPress.php',                                    // Pressure
                    'graphWind.php',                                     // Wind speed
                    'graphWdir.php',                                     // Wind direction
                    (config.showUvGauge ? 'graphUV.php' : null),         // UV graph if UV sensor is present | =null if no UV sensor
                    (config.showSolarGauge ? 'graphSolar.php' : null),   // Solar rad graph if Solar sensor is present | Solar =null if no Solar sensor
                    (config.showRoseGauge ? 'graphWindRose.php' : null), // Wind direction if Rose is enabled | =null if Rose is disabled
                    (config.showCloudGauge ? 'graphPress.php' : null)    // Pressure for cloud height | =null if Cloud Height is disabled


I still don't get image files created.

And the only other thing that's not right is that the Wind Rose is squashed.

Capture.JPG


Any suggestions on how to fix that?

Thanks

Phil.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Steelseries Upgrade.

Postby Toxic17 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:00 am

Phil23 wrote:Think I've finally got it almost sorted.

Am I correct in saying the script files belong in the images directory?
That's where I have them now.

And for the benefit of others like me, who aren't really up on this stuff, the gauges.js file meeds to be edited down below line 203?

Like this? To run the scripts, rather than load the png.

I still don't get image files created.

And the only other thing that's not right is that the Wind Rose is squashed.

Capture.JPG

Any suggestions on how to fix that?

Thanks

Phil.


yeah I am at a lost too, though I have the graphs now being displayed on their own, just not in the popup windows.

https://www.conligwx.org/graphPress.php

the .htaccess file supplied is suppose to change the naming convention so you dont have to rename the line 203 etc. though I still cannot get the images shown using *.png files

I didnt see line 203 and below, I may give that a try.

the other issue I have is I am on PHP 7.1.1 and I needed jpgrahs 4.x and higher. the scripts Mark has kindly provided was calling for a php file that was not part of jpgraphs 4.0.x

the missing file was: jpgraph_glayout_vh.inc.php which I had to check the Apache logs too see what the hell was going on..

I have managed to put that with the rest of the jpgraph files and now it at least displays the graph calling the php file on its own. I think the next iss is the popups are not creating the image files due to the naming so I will try your workaround and see if i get any joy.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image


Return to “Customisation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests