Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby nitrx » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:08 am

I tried a logfilfe from WD for test (dec 2013) and got this error in the log.txt

Code: Select all

'02.6' is not a valid floating point value


The value seems to be the temperature I think

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:15 am

You presumably use commas for decimals? But WD exported the data using full stops for decimals?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby nitrx » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:31 am

Hmm I really dont know I've attached the WD logfile (note I dont need the converter but was just curious if worked)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:47 am

Yes, it's using full stops, that's a pain as Windows can't convert those automatically on a system which uses commas, it doesn't recognise them as numbers. When you export from WD, is there an option to choose the decimal separator, or does it always use a full stop, with no option?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby nitrx » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:50 am

Ok I try to find the export option if I can find it (messy interface) :roll:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:01 am

I think if I just change the code so that it replaces any full stop decimals with whatever the PC is using before converting to numbers, that should work.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby nitrx » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:17 am

I can't find anything for exporting to a differrent format except some files that generate inf files which are meant to be for graphics I think .

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:03 pm

I've uploaded v1.1, which caters for the fact that the WD files have decimal points even though the PC may be configured for decimal commas. It also has an option to convert all of the files in the same folder as the one selected.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby nitrx » Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:16 pm

This works fine Steve good job :clap:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:29 pm

Thanks for testing :)
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
martk1972
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 (Wireless)
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby martk1972 » Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:30 am

Thanks for this Steve, I have successfully converted my old WD files to Cumulus. :D

I did have to rename some of my old WD files, eg 92011lg had to be renamed to 092011lg otherwise I got an error saying - "011l" is not a valid integer value.

I had to add a 0 to the start of all my WD log files that started with 1-9 inclusive, those with 10, 11 and 12 were fine.
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:38 am

Ah, I assumed that the log files would all start mmyyyy, but they actually just use one digit for for the first nine months of the year? :roll:
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby nitrx » Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:45 am

Yes they do I run WD just and it created 12014lg.txt sorry it was not in my test..

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26245
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby steve » Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:17 pm

I've upload v1.2, which caters for the files with the single digit months.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
duke
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 6:23 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 - 64 bit
Location: Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Postby duke » Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:51 pm

steve wrote:I've upload v1.2, which caters for the files with the single digit months.


Sorry Steve, I should have noted that and posted you a larger sample of monthly files in my earlier post.
Duke

Nightingale Weather
Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
------------------------------------------------------
Validate your pages - often!


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests