Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Phil23 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:20 am

BCJKiwi wrote:The 3 bars means that the code that decodes the Davis forecast cannot find a match to produce any of the icons.

Is the file davconfcst.php being delivered to the website with current data? Again this is all covered in the documentation including what the 3 bars means.


Yes I've just double read the Text notes, pretty sure everything is fine.

davconfcst.php is being uploaded & contains this data.

Code: Select all

<?php

/*

File: davconfcstT.txt

 Purpose: load Cumulus tags required for davconvueCU.php and davconvp2CU.php Scripts.



Instructions: 

 Save this page as davconfcstT.txt and place in your cumulus\web directory

 

 Use the Cumulus, Configuration, Internet, Files panel select an unused entry.

  In the Local Filenames, press Browse and select the davconfcstT.txt file as the local filename.

  In the Remote Filenames box, enter the directory and davconfcst.php as the Remote Filename to use (no 'T').

  Leave the Binary? box unchecked,

  Check the Process? box.

  Leave the Realtime? box unchecked.

  Check the FTP? box.

  Press OK on the Internet Settings dialog to close it and save the settings.



Adapted from CUtags.txt by

  Author: Ken True - webmaster@saratoga-weather.org

  for this purpose by BCJKiwi - silveracorn.nz

  V 1.0   created 8  July 2013

  V 2.1a  Updated 2  Nov  2013

  V 2.4.1 Updated May 2014 - added $time

*/



$date  = '18/02/2017';

$tag_time  = '12:10:01';

$time  = '12:10';

$forecast  = trim('Rain, very unsettled');

$moonage   = '21';

$location  = htmlspecialchars("Phil's Backyard");

$latitude  = '-29.77389';

$latitudedms  = 'S&nbsp;29&deg;&nbsp;46&#39;&nbsp;26&quot;';

$longitudedms = 'E&nbsp;151&deg;&nbsp;07&#39;&nbsp;14&quot;';

$altitude  = '586&nbsp;m';

$update    = '18/02/2017 12:10:01 PM';

$version   = '3.0.0';

$build     = '3043';

$uomtemp   = '&#176;C';

$uomwind   = 'km/h';

$uombaro   = 'hPa';

$uomrain   = 'mm';

$interval  = '10';

$vpstormrain = '5.6';

$vpstormrainstart = '17/02/2017';

$tag_ver   = '!!3.0.0-3043!!';

?>


BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:45 am

OK,
The forecast is 'Rain, very unsettled'
$forecast = trim('Rain, very unsettled');

In davconvp2CU.php at line 414
preg_match('/Unsettled/i',
is a case insensitive search of the forecast string and should find "unsettled" inside 'Rain, very unsettled' and deliver the icon for mostly cloudy.

Does your VP2 physical console show a mostly cloudy icon?

Have spent many hours finding and analyzing Davis forecast strings and found ~140 different ones.
None have "very" in them and only one has "unsettled".

Maybe Davis have invented some new ones on later consoles - Is your VP2 Console new?

The Davis Console constructs the forecast string different component strings and they are not really listed anywhere on their website AFAIK.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Phil23 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:56 am

Hmmm,

It's got the Icons now, but no changes made at all.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:07 am

Is the forecast different?
If so what is it now?
Remember I have no access to your site as it is blocked to me as our security flags your site as a Phishing site - I am not suggesting that it is but it has triggered the warning somewhere.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby PaulMy » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:15 am

I can see Phil's console fine. The forecast is scrolling Rain, Very Unsettled.

Paul

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:21 am

Thanks Paul,

I could see it too if I over-rode my security :o

That is the same forecast as before so everything appears to be working OK.

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Toxic17 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:16 am

BCJKiwi wrote:I could see it too if I over-rode my security :o


looks like Google and a few other sites have it blacklisted which in turn is past onto so Web filter agents etc.

not all web checkers fail but some like this one.

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/weather.inverellit.com

Phil, you should be able to request McAfee Siteadvisor take another look at your site. Then they can scan for content again.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby steve » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:31 pm

"Rain, very unsettled" is not a Davis forecast, it's a Zambretti forecast, i,e. one of the ones you get if you have Cumulus configured to use the 'Cumulus forecast' rather than the station forecast.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:02 pm

Thanks Steve - had not considered that! - too long since I worked on this in detail.
Perhaps, in MX UI:- Settings, Station settings, Forecast, "Use Cumulus forecast" has been ticked?
Just checked the HowTo and this is not specifically mentioned - yet another thing to add for the future.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Phil23 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:42 pm

BCJKiwi wrote:OK,
Maybe Davis have invented some new ones on later consoles - Is your VP2 Console new?


If you are referring to my console, it's September 2016, firmware 3.15.

Phil

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Phil23 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:51 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
BCJKiwi wrote:I could see it too if I over-rode my security :o


looks like Google and a few other sites have it blacklisted which in turn is past onto so Web filter agents etc.

not all web checkers fail but some like this one.

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/weather.inverellit.com

Phil, you should be able to request McAfee Siteadvisor take another look at your site. Then they can scan for content again.


That Frustrates the hell out of me, particularly considering my clients visit my site.

Seen numerous false positives on Symantec's "Norton Web Safe", that I always have resolved by getting them to review my site again.
They also provide the URL of the suspect files, which simply don't exist.

Do others have this same issue from time to time?


Phil.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:55 pm

OK Thanks,

It seems there are no new forecasts, as Steve indicated that is a "Cumulus" forecast - i.e. a Zambretti simple forecast. As indicated in my last post, check the settings in CumulusMX's Ui. If you tick "Use Cumulus forecast" then you will get the Zambretti forecast, not the station forecast.
If you untick that setting then Cumulus will deliver the station forecast - i.e the Davis forecast - this is a Davis console "emulation" so it assumes you have a Davis console and therefore have a Davis forecast.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:20 pm

Re the 'blacklisting';

There seem to be lot of issues with these blacklisters - they feed off each other and tend to perpetuate issues without necessarily checking for themselves

Have found this site to be useful in checking IP addresses http://whatismyipaddress.com/blacklist-check They have a bunch of other tools as well.

Have just checked your Ip (116.0.23.207) with them and it found 1 entry in a list of 71 organisations.
It is at l2.apnews.org. It is an automated "Early lister" and blocks large ranges of addresses. The are many other blacklist sites in addition to this set of 71.

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Phil23 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:29 pm

BCJKiwi wrote:Thanks Steve - had not considered that! - too long since I worked on this in detail.
Perhaps, in MX UI:- Settings, Station settings, Forecast, "Use Cumulus forecast" has been ticked?
Just checked the HowTo and this is not specifically mentioned - yet another thing to add for the future.


I've got the 3 Bars again this morning; and yes did have it set for Cumulus Forecast, but have just now changed that.

Still getting the 3 bars.

Have had a look at davconfcst.txt & see this:-

Code: Select all

DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Settled fine|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fine weather|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Becoming fine|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|
DC_Fairly fine, improving|grid.png|


Presume I can edit davconVP2CU.php below line 393 & add some new entries that will receive matches.

Edit:-

I just noticed the warning that the "!!! TESTS and ORDER CRITICAL !!!"

Phil

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Cumulus Websites Ver CU2.4.1

Postby Phil23 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:07 pm

BCJKiwi wrote:Re the 'blacklisting';

Have just checked your Ip (116.0.23.207) with them and it found 1 entry in a list of 71 organisations.
It is at l2.apnews.org. It is an automated "Early lister" and blocks large ranges of addresses. The are many other blacklist sites in addition to this set of 71.


Yes, Just looked at that.

One of the issues with the Hosting provider I use is they have multiple domains on a server & all resolve to the same IP address;
Not sure how it works; they only say they resolve it internally.

But if you want to see for yourself you can Ping these domain names & always return the same IP.

mooc.com.au
rangroup.com.au
abstractplumbing.com.au

All resolve to 203.0.23.207

Phil


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests