Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

WU Indoor Temp

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
ocala
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:43 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Location: Candler, Florida USA

WU Indoor Temp

Postby ocala » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:35 pm

Selected this option a couple days ago but the indoor temp does not show up on my station page.
Does anyone know if WU supports this option? Has anyone tried it and got it to work?
Thanks.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1548
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby PaulMy » Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:13 pm

Hi,
I also have Include Indoor selected in WU settings (for years) but can't recall if it ever showed up on my IONTARIO226 station page. The current https://api.wunderground.com/weathersta ... format=XML does not include it.

This thread viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12735&hilit=indoor+temp#p102784 seems to indicate it had been working.

Enjoy,
Paul


p.s. my own question: is there a way to check what Cumulus actually sent to WU (I've checked the ftplog but can't see anything in it)?

ocala
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:43 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Location: Candler, Florida USA

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby ocala » Sat Nov 04, 2017 6:39 pm

Hey Paul
Doing A search I did find that thread but since it was 2 years old I thought maybe there was some updated info.
Thanks.

User avatar
radilly
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:01 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS-2080
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: McMurray, PA, US
Contact:

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby radilly » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:29 pm

Hi Paul-

Regarding
PaulMy wrote:p.s. my own question: is there a way to check what Cumulus actually sent to WU (I've checked the ftplog but can't see anything in it)?


Some few years I was uploading to Weather Underground from my hosted web-server because the interface to my PWS didn't handle it directly. The WU interface is an HTTP GET, so I wouldn't necessarily expect it to be represented in an FTP log. I've been curious myself whether there is some way to log what's being sent.

I have been thinking about those periods when connectivity to the outdoor sensor drops. I believe CMX may continue to transmit the last (outdoor) reading it got. I think I'd prefer that bogus/old data not be sent to WU. I think I'd rather know that the station hasn't reported in (recently) and that the data is aging.

At any rate, in the link below I find this:

Code: Select all

indoortempf - [F indoor temperature F]
indoorhumidity - [% indoor humidity 0-100]

Which suggests suggests indoor data is supported - though in Fahrenheit only it seems.

Ref: http://help.wunderground.com/knowledgeb ... d-protocol

Bob

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26250
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby steve » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:46 pm

Turning on debug logging will show the update string sent to WU (so long as you don’t have rapid fire on). It appears in debug.log on C1 and the diags logs in MX.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
radilly
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:01 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS-2080
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: McMurray, PA, US
Contact:

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby radilly » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:53 pm

For grins, I tried to construct a URL using indoortempf. Actually, I forgot dateutc which I believe is required, and got the reply below, a syntax summary, which doesn't include indoortempf.

Code: Select all

RapidFire Server

usage
action [action = updateraw]
ID [ID as registered by wunderground.com]
PASSWORD [PASSWORD registered with this ID]
dateutc - [YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS (mysql format)]
winddir - [0-360]
windspeedmph - [mph]
windgustmph - [windgustmph ]
humidity - [%]
tempf - [temperature F]
rainin - [rain in]
dailyrainin - [daily rain in accumulated]
baromin - [barom in]
dewptf- [dewpoint F]
weather - [text] -- metar style (+RA)
clouds - [text] -- SKC, FEW, SCT, BKN, OVC
softwaretype - [text] ie: vws or weatherdisplay


When I added the dateutc I got back "success", but I can't see it (admittedly just 1 data point). My WU page updates every minute, but in the Weather History Table records are (generally) shown at 5 minute intervals ... so some data isn't shown. Could well be an in between record.

Also, the Download link includes a header, and some fields which are not used. The fields in the header are:
    * Time
    * TemperatureF
    * DewpointF
    * PressureIn
    * WindDirection
    * WindDirectionDegrees
    * WindSpeedMPH
    * WindSpeedGustMPH
    * Humidity
    * HourlyPrecipIn
    * Conditions
    * Clouds
    * dailyrainin
    * SoftwareType
    * DateUTC
Don't see any indoor stuff in there...

Bob

Ref: https://www.wunderground.com/personal-w ... =KPAMCMUR4

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1548
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby PaulMy » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:53 pm

Thanks Steve,
From the debug logging:

Code: Select all

5186.52920 : 10:20:04 AM Updating Wunderground
5186.52920 :
http://weatherstation.wunderground.com/weatherstation/updateweatherstation.php?ID=IONTARIO226&PASSWORD=*********&dateutc=2017-11-06+15%3A20%3A04
&winddir=311
&windspeedmph=1
&windgustmph=8
&windspdmph_avg2m=1
&winddir_avg2m=341
&humidity=78
&tempf=43.0
&rainin=0.00
&dailyrainin=0.02
&baromin=30.101
&dewptf=36.5
&indoortempf=76.6
&indoorhumidity=42
&softwaretype=Cumulus%20v1.9.4
&action=updateraw
5186.52936 : 10:20:04.138 Sending wakeup, attempt 1
5186.53170 : 10:20:04 AM WU Response Code: 200 Response = success

So to Ocala's question, indoor temp and Humidity is being sent by Cumulus BUT not shown by WU https://api.wunderground.com/weathersta ... format=XML

Enjoy,
Paul

ocala
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:43 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Location: Candler, Florida USA

Re: WU Indoor Temp

Postby ocala » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:25 am

Thank you everyone. Appreciate the responses


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests