Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Unresponsive

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
Altocumulus
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Unresponsive

Postby Altocumulus » Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:34 pm

Hi All.....

Just (finally) started making plans to upload data to a webpage. During this process I have set Cumulus up to copy relevant files through to a directory on the same PC.
Coincidentally I've started to notice the Cumulus Title change with an unresponsive error added. Is this a consequence of the processing being done to create relevant pages for a web upload? The unresponsiveness lasts for no longer than 5 seconds with the window shifting slightly when control re-established by Cumulus.

I am using standard images, and tags, onto my own template. Template starts as a txt file, renaming as php. (I use php to change CSS colours on negative temperatures, also a conversion of C to F for us 'older' folk :D)

Geoff

sfws
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: Unresponsive

Postby sfws » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:16 pm

Yes, the various processes in Cumulus 1 updating lots of images and then Copying them (or file transferring them) can make the main screen show that it is unresponsive. Based on my limited understanding of how Cumulus works, many of the default settings (e.g. use of 'realtime' updating) can involve several potentially simultaneous 'threads' that Steve uses for handling the various processes running in the background.

Altocumulus
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Unresponsive

Postby Altocumulus » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:06 am

Thanks.
After switching off the process for web site part, there's no longer any non-responsive errors.
I did wonder if it was something else, but glad to see it confirmed as not just me!


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests