IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

cumulus not responding

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
abarnett1934
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:04 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681-Solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

cumulus not responding

Postby abarnett1934 » Sat Mar 24, 2018 9:21 pm

After 10 years of using Cumulus with no real problems, today when I loaded it, data was updated and display was perfect. However the forecast showed as unavailable. When I went to the website melrosecrescentweather.co.uk the display showed the correct detail. However when I went to dials it stated that the station was now offline.
When I tried to access any details from the computer it stated that Cumulus was not responding.
After a reboot Cumulus would not respond. I am using Windows 10.
When I opened programs, Cumulus is not displayed.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26685
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: cumulus not responding

Postby steve » Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:35 pm

If you zip up the diags folder and attach it to a reply in this thread, I’ll take a look when I can.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

abarnett1934
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:04 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681-Solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: cumulus not responding

Postby abarnett1934 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:38 am

Cumulus is acting in most strange way. It will open, download data and publish onto the net. As long as I leave it alone it works OK, but the moment I try to open, say "view" it displays this, but when I try to close it the not responding comes up. Cumulus is then closed and when I open it again, it takes ages to settle down. As requested, I am send a zip file of diags.
Best wishes,
Arthur
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5194
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: cumulus not responding

Postby mcrossley » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:24 pm

A quick scan shows lots of "Invalid first block of memory" errors. Sounds like it might be time to perform a power reset of the console and see if that clears it? (power adaptor out, batteries out, USB disconnected for 30 seconds)

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26685
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: cumulus not responding

Postby steve » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:32 pm

I haven’t had chance to look at your diags files (need my laptop for that) but from what Mark has seen it sounds like you have a communication issue with your console and I endorse Mark’s suggestion.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

abarnett1934
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:04 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681-Solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: cumulus not responding

Postby abarnett1934 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:42 pm

Dear Mark & Steve,
Many thanks for your reply and suggestions. I have completely uninstalled Cumulus, shut down the computer and then installed the program again.
The program is now exactly as it was before. When I open the program, the data is quickly downloaded and everything appears to be well. The forecast now takes 60 seconds to appear. None of the tabs seem to work. If I click on "view" nothing happens for quite a while and then it appears and I can work with it. When I click on minimise the same thing happens and when eventually it does, I have a real problem getting the program to respond. At least I am not getting the Cumulus not responding screen.
The program is uploading to the web and if left alone is OK. It's just the tabs that are taking an age to respond. I suppose I can live with this, but It's a mystery as to why its not working as it was last week. I have followed your tip about the console but this is the situation I am in at the moment.
I have a feeling that the console is probably faulty.
Thanks again, Arthur

abarnett1934
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:04 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681-Solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: cumulus not responding

Postby abarnett1934 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:57 pm

Problem solved.
First I uninstalled Cumulus
Then did a cold boot
Deleted the folder Cumulus in C drive
Ran CCleaner to remove registry files
Downloaded Cumulus and installed it on the computer
Copied Web files, data and Ini File
Everything now works a treat and the program is quick to respond


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests