Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
espana23
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:23 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 8
Location: Cyprus

Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby espana23 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:07 am

Hi,

I have been using Cumulus for the last couple of years, and I have it integrated with CWOP. Windfinder told me that in order for me to send them my data, I could do it only through CWOP. Even though I upload my data to the CWOP servers every 5 minutes Windfinder reports my data every 60 minutes. I was told that that's the best they can do right now with the CWOP integration I have. I was told that to address this issue I would need to use either Weather Display or Meteobridge. I have two questions:

1. Is there a plan to have Cumulus integrate with Windfinder in a different way other than CWOP?
2. Can I have both Cumulus and Weather Display running on my PC at the same time and have both collect the weather data from my Davis Vantage Vue display console?

Thank you.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5185
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby mcrossley » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:15 am

The Windfinder web site says they can process the Cumulus realtime.txt file?

espana23
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:23 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 8
Location: Cyprus

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby espana23 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:49 am

Hi Mark,

I saw that also, but I've been emailing with their Support and as of now they only support CWOP.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5185
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby mcrossley » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:13 am

Not very helpful their web site is it! It says they accept tsv data, but no details of how to submit it.
Says they accept Cumulus realtime.txt - but apparently they don't!

If they published their API like most other sites instead of keeping it secret, then maybe we could suggest ways of using an external program with C1 or a custom URL with CMX. :roll:

espana23
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:23 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 8
Location: Cyprus

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby espana23 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:21 am

Mark,

What about my 2nd question. Do you know if there is a way to use Cumulus and Weather Display at the same time?

I am basically trying to find a way to get Windfinder to display my data in shorter time intervals since most users that use Windfinder want wind readings that are as live as possible (and not an hour in the past).

Thanks.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5185
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby mcrossley » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:20 am

There is no way that I know of using Cumulus and WD at the same time, unless you use something like Meteobridge as well - perhaps.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26620
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby steve » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:41 am

Windfinder contacted me a couple of years ago asking me to add support - I gave my usual response, that I could consider it in the future.

They gave an example of how to do an update, it’s basically the same as WU etc (using an http get). So not difficult to do, just cloning a lot of existing code. So the answer I gave then still stands.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

espana23
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:23 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 8
Location: Cyprus

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby espana23 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:52 am

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the response. Hopefully there is some interest in the future to get this feature developed.

Thanks!

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby PaulMy » Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:23 pm

What about my 2nd question. Do you know if there is a way to use Cumulus and Weather Display at the same time?

With VVP you can run more than one program however it is no longer supported and does not run on all Windows systems, and not 100% reliable.
http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=33493.0

Enjoy,
Paul

espana23
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:23 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 8
Location: Cyprus

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby espana23 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:30 pm

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the information. I will look into VVP, and hopefully I can get it working.

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby Mapantz » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:33 pm

I've just had a look at Windfinder, and found my station data on there.. I never even set anything up with them, so they must be scraping another weather network to obtain the data.
Image
Image

espana23
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:23 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 8
Location: Cyprus

Re: Cumulus integration with Windfinder

Postby espana23 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:04 pm

Mapantz wrote:I've just had a look at Windfinder, and found my station data on there.. I never even set anything up with them, so they must be scraping another weather network to obtain the data.


Are you sending your data to CWOP? If so, that might explain it. I noticed the same with WindAlert. I am not sending them nything but because I send it to CWOP they take it from there.


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests