IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
PAW
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:42 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows10

Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby PAW » Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:34 pm

Hello, - 3 issues - I had been looking for a solution to solve a recent error with Cumulus which seemed to add a very large erroneous rainfall figure (about 580mm) in addition to any actual rainfall recorded on my Davis Vantage Vue each time I connected the console to my laptop which runs Cumulus. This is not recorded in the console.

I was about to ask the forum for advice on this issue by sending a copy of my Diags folder. DUNDERHEAD mode set in and I foolishly changed the name of the first of the 9 Diags files from 'Cumulus.~og' to 'Cumulus.001' which I thought it was last time I looked. That file has now disappeared.

Cumulus will not open now. Any suggestions? (other than telling me NEVER to change file names in future!)

How can I open the Diags folders? Windows File Association Helper is pretty UNhelpful.

I'm using Cumulus v1.9.4
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby steve » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:17 am

The files in the zip you've attached are all very old, so aren't any help. The best thing to do would be to delete all of those files and then start Cumulus. After it's been running for a while, zip up the diags folder and attach it to another post.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

PAW
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:42 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows10

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby PAW » Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:22 pm

Hi Steve, I've deleted the diags files, but I still can't get Cumulus to start.

Peter Woodward

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby steve » Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:33 pm

I can't be of much help, I'm afraid, without anything to go on. What happens when you try to start it - any error messages anywhere? Are you sure it isn't already running? Have you tried rebooting your PC?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

sfws
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby sfws » Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:59 pm

Steve is the expert and I can't compete with him, but as someone who has used Cumulus 1 for many years, perhaps I can make a few suggestions...
With Cumulus 1, a corrupted weather diary file (data\log.xml) could stop it starting, so try renaming the weather diary file (e.g. to data\logTEST.xml in case you've messed up that, and it is just that stopping Cumulus from starting. I have tested and can confirm if that file can't be found because of the rename, Cumulus 1 will start and it will create a new file.

I guess corruption of other files in the data directory might also cause problems, but I would expect Cumulus to start then give an error. Just in case you could try creating a new folder on your W10 PC, installing a fresh copy of Cumulus there (rename the executable as "CumulusTest.exe" if you want to, the exact name is irrelevant), and check it starts. Obviously it will ask for settings again (unless you have created a CumulusTest.ini (i.e. using same name as executable) in that same new folder with same contents as your old Cumulus.ini). It will create new data files, but this will prove Cumulus can run! If it runs, stop it, the old data files can be copied into the new folder, and then a restart should restore you to your correct previous working position albeit in a different directory position.
PAW wrote: looking for a solution to solve a recent error with Cumulus which seemed to add a very large erroneous rainfall figure (about 580mm) in addition to any actual rainfall recorded on my Davis Vantage Vue

For rainfall correction, there are extensive answers within the FAQ in Wiki that cover most possibilities.
PAW wrote:This is not recorded in the console.

To me, this suggests a non-zero "YTD Amount" on the station settings screen, or a rainfall multiplier that is not 1 on the calibration screen. Both screens are accessed in Cumulus 1 Configuration menu.
PAW wrote:How can I open the Diags folders? Windows File Association Helper is pretty UNhelpful.

For reading the diag files, don't change the names, or the extensions, they can be read with any text file reader/editor, but for safety you might wish to take copies before you attempt to read them, to ensure you can't corrupt the versions Cumulus is using, and you should also note that Cumulus only keeps 10 files each with the file-name matching the current executable name, but each with a different extension; it does delete the older files automatically. If you rename the executable since that name forms the file name, Cumulus will ignore any files created by a different executable name to the current name.

PAW
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:42 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows10

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby PAW » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:11 am

steve wrote:I can't be of much help, I'm afraid, without anything to go on. What happens when you try to start it - any error messages anywhere? Are you sure it isn't already running? Have you tried rebooting your PC?


Thanks Steve, I've rebooted the laptop several times. No error message - just doesn't open either from desktop links or from cumulus.exe. I'll try sfws's suggestions and let you know.

Thanks again.

PAW
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:42 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows10

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby PAW » Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:59 pm

I have just found that Cumulus will open, initialise and download data but only if I open as ADMINISTRATOR in Windows. Any idea why this should be?

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5195
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby mcrossley » Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:34 pm

PAW wrote:I have just found that Cumulus will open, initialise and download data but only if I open as ADMINISTRATOR in Windows. Any idea why this should be?

You installed it into Program Files?

PAW
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:42 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows10

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby PAW » Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:20 pm

No, it's installed outside the Program Files hierarchy - directly in C/.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby steve » Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:31 pm

Could perhaps be a permissions problem with the Cumulus folder(s).
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

PAW
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:42 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows10

Re: Rainfall error. Can't open Cumulus. Can't open Diags

Postby PAW » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:08 pm

Thanks for all your suggestions and comments. I have installed a fresh copy of Cumulus1 and copied data etc from the old version as described.

All seems to me OK now - time to make a donation!


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests