Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.

What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

800 x 600
14
3%
1024 x 768
96
20%
1152 x 864
7
1%
1280 x 800
20
4%
1280 x 1024
87
18%
1440 x 900
40
8%
1600 x 1200
8
2%
1680 x 1050
56
12%
1920 x 1200
64
14%
Other
81
17%
 
Total votes: 473

User avatar
Space Cowboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:13 pm
Weather Station: WS2350
Operating System: Windows Vista 64bit
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby Space Cowboy » Sat Oct 01, 2011 4:24 pm

I am using 1600 x 900
Space Cowboy

Swede
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:00 am
Weather Station: OS WMR 200
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Barrier island in New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby Swede » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:54 am

My resolution doesn't show on your list, Steve. I use 1024x1280 (monitor is in portrait mode). The Cumulus display is 990x720.
...............................Swede
...............It's a pretty day. I hope you enjoy it

Weather Station: http://www.SwedesDock.com/weather
Weather this minute: http://www.SwedesDock.com/weather_live
Home: http://www.SwedesDock.com

water01
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby water01 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:01 am

It does Swede you have just got yours the wrong way round, largest dimension first is the standard way to quote screen sizes, i.e. 1280 x1024.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby steve » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:34 am

water01 wrote:It does Swede you have just got yours the wrong way round, largest dimension first is the standard way to quote screen sizes, i.e. 1280 x1024.

But as it's the available width and height for Cumulus that I'm interested in, rather than just the physical screen size regardless of orientation, Swede is correct to not use the 1280 x 1024 response.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Swede
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:00 am
Weather Station: OS WMR 200
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Barrier island in New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby Swede » Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:00 pm

water01 wrote:It does Swede you have just got yours the wrong way round, largest dimension first is the standard way to quote screen sizes, i.e. 1280 x1024.


With the appropriate video card, monitors may displayed two ways (Landscape - wider than higher - and Portrait - higher than wider). Landscape is the "standard" for computers. With the bigger monitors available today (I use a 27"), Portrait mode is often preferred.

If your video card is Portrait capable you'll find it under -

Right click on the desktop.
then Properties/Settings/(Your video card)

Try Portrait, water, odds are you'll never go back. Oh, and you'll need a swivel mount on your monitor as well to be able to turn it "sideways".
...............................Swede
...............It's a pretty day. I hope you enjoy it

Weather Station: http://www.SwedesDock.com/weather
Weather this minute: http://www.SwedesDock.com/weather_live
Home: http://www.SwedesDock.com

bertil08
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 12:04 pm
Weather Station: ProWeatherStation, TP1080WC
Operating System: e.g Windows 7
Location: Segeltorp, Sweden
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby bertil08 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:11 am

I am using maximum on each computer:

1366x768
...
1920x1080

/Bertil08

figgy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:33 am
Weather Station: Fine Offset - Watson W-8681
Operating System: Windows 2000 Pro SP4
Location: On a hill in East Sussex

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby figgy » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:17 am

1920 X 1080. I am totally surprised no one else is using 1920 X 1080 which is the current standard for wide screen monitors. Of course, Microsoft has to have a variation on a theme with Windows 7.

caddis68
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:13 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Tornado, WV

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby caddis68 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:09 pm

1920x1080

casacota
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:04 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows XP pro SP3
Location: Catalan Pyrennees
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby casacota » Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:00 pm

"Other": 1024 X 600.

In fact Cumulus runs minimized on a headless server (web+mail+weather programms - http://www.casacota.cat) but I connect to it via RDP with an Asus EEEPC with that resolution.
Image

User avatar
hectic
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:54 pm
Weather Station: WH-3080
Operating System: windows vista
Location: Taunton somerset United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby hectic » Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:35 pm

steve wrote:I would be grateful if everyone could please indicate the display resolution that they use on the PC running Cumulus. If your response is 'other', please post a comment giving your actual resolution. If you are running Cumulus on more than one PC at different resolutions please 'vote' with your smallest resolution.

I use cumulus on a little notebook at 1024 x 600 this is how the computer set its default screen. some issues with text, pressure and graphic for sun. The general graphics look of the capture is low because I took the screen shot by remote access from another computer with reduced colours etc, but the text issues are still the same nether the less.
Capturef.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby steve » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:10 pm

You can turn off the display of the pressure trend text; that was the best I could do for smaller displays.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

david3
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby david3 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:30 pm

1920x1080 for me, too.
Image

pajala73
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:24 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMRS200
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Lund, Sweden

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby pajala73 » Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:43 pm

1366x768 on the logger PC, 1920x1080 on my main computer (accessing the logger PC using TeamViewer).

User avatar
fadiaz
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:40 am
Weather Station: WeatherWise (Fine Offset) WS1090
Operating System: Windows 8 (64 bits)
Location: San Juan, PR
Contact:

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby fadiaz » Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:56 pm

1280 * 1024 here (with a 4:3 monitor)
Image

OliII
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:47 am
Weather Station: WMR 200 by Oregon Scientific
Operating System: WinXP SP3
Location: Belgium

Re: What screen resolution does your Cumulus PC use?

Postby OliII » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:59 pm

PC Weatherstation : 800*600px (Notebook has a default into the VGA CARD)
Main PC : 1680*1050 px, view and access to weather pc with VNC or TeamViewer (also with iPhone and Android phone).
Last edited by OliII on Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
http://www.7331.be/meteo website based on the phpBB3 forum and template. WMR200 + UVN 800 - Cumulus 1.9.4 1062 / Windows XP Service Pack 3 build 2600 FR


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests