If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3041 Aug 17 2016

Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
User avatar
scotweather
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:42 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS2300
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP3
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby scotweather » Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:01 am

Thank you for your replies.

I'm running Windows XP using Cumulus build 1.9.0
The record of the snow is recorded in the diary and shows up on View this month with 3 snow falling and 2 snow days.
The Snow index has recorded my 15cm
The entry in Cumuluswebtags.php before processing is:
$snowdepth = '<#snowdepth>'; // Today's Snow Depth as entered manually in the Weather Diary
The entry in Cumuluswebtags.php after processing is:
$snowdepth = '0'; // Today's Snow Depth as entered manually in the Weather Diary
Attached is my log.xml file

The last time I had a problem with the diary was when it would error when an update happened.. I used the Diary a lot last winter so the only difference is the build of Cumulus has changed from last winter. I usually update regularly so is it worth checking any differences between the build that was available last January to build 1.9.0. Just a thought.

Sorry Steve giving you another problem.

Thanks
Kate
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by scotweather on Sun Nov 28, 2010 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25090
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby steve » Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:11 am

scotweather wrote:Attached is my log.xml file

Your log also works fine for me.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
WyoRusty
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:06 pm
Weather Station: WS-1080
Operating System: XP Pro SP3
Location: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby WyoRusty » Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:44 am

Hi all, my first post.

I have been playing with snow depth here in Wyoming and have noticed that, while it does post ok using 1.9.0 build 958, I can not enter decimal numbers, fraction of whole numbers etc. I also cannot enter any leading zero number. I use inches here of course. So, if I get 18.25 inches I actually see 1825 inches, 0.5 or 005 gives me 5 inches.

Since I am pretty profieient with html, I went into the webpage template and added a leading 0 and decimal for fractions as needed. I just need to remember to do that when snow fall requires.

Courious. If this has been asked and answered I appoligize. I'm still doing a lot of reading. Also trying to find out the procedure for installing a newwer version without loosing data. I don't want to hijack this thread so I'll keep searching on these points.

Thanks

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25090
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby steve » Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:40 am

WyoRusty wrote:I have been playing with snow depth here in Wyoming and have noticed that, while it does post ok using 1.9.0 build 958, I can not enter decimal numbers, fraction of whole numbers etc.

The snow depth facility is just one of things I threw in for my own use before anyone else was using Cumulus. I measure in cm, to the nearest cm, so the field in the diary 'database' is an integer. I can't change this now, sorry.

Also trying to find out the procedure for installing a newwer version without loosing data.

Upgrade instructions are in the readme.txt file. Basically, take a backup of your data just in case, and install the new version.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
WyoRusty
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:06 pm
Weather Station: WS-1080
Operating System: XP Pro SP3
Location: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby WyoRusty » Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:38 am

steve wrote:
WyoRusty wrote:I have been playing with snow depth here in Wyoming and have noticed that, while it does post ok using 1.9.0 build 958, I can not enter decimal numbers, fraction of whole numbers etc.

The snow depth facility is just one of things I threw in for my own use before anyone else was using Cumulus. I measure in cm, to the nearest cm, so the field in the diary 'database' is an integer. I can't change this now, sorry.

Thanks. We sure get more snow than rain here. I could switch to cm of course but then no one here would know what I was talking about - LOL

Also trying to find out the procedure for installing a newwer version without loosing data.

Upgrade instructions are in the readme.txt file. Basically, take a backup of your data just in case, and install the new version.

I did recall seeing something and I actually found it again this morning - Thanks

User avatar
scotweather
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:42 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS2300
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP3
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby scotweather » Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:29 am

Steve

Just getting this thread back on track ......

Are there any suggestions on how to solve the diary problem not updating Cumuluswebtags.php yet?
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25090
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby steve » Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:10 am

scotweather wrote:Are there any suggestions on how to solve the diary problem not updating Cumuluswebtags.php yet?

There are three ways that the <#snowdepth> tag could give zero:

1. It doesn't find an entry for today in the diary
2. It finds an entry, but it contains zero
3. It gets an error trying to read the diary

At the moment, we don't know which one is happening, but the third is the most likely, since your diary does contain a non-zero entry. I added some diagnostics at build 965 of 1.9.1 so that it would log any error to the diags file rather than just trapping and ignoring it. I just need someone to try it.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
scotweather
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:42 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS2300
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP3
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby scotweather » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:17 am

Hi Steve

I downloaded and installed the 1.9.1 beta and entered in today's snow depth and cumuluswebtags.php is now updating.

Thank you.

Katrina
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25090
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby steve » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:21 am

scotweather wrote:I downloaded and installed the 1.9.1 beta and entered in today's snow depth and cumuluswebtags.php is now updating

That's interesting; I didn't actually do anything that would make it start working, I just added logging for when it didn't.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

6719jason
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:38 pm
Weather Station: Was a La-Crosse WS2300 Serial
Operating System: None
Location: Weeley, Essex, UK

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby 6719jason » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:55 pm

Hi there ScotWeather & Steve,

My apologies for not mentioning this sooner but, I too have been having the same issue as you ScotWeather with the latest stable build Ver 1.9.0 Build 958. The only way I could get it to update the Cumulus PHP Webtags and indeed the standard #webtag, was to restart Cumulus.

Jason

User avatar
scotweather
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:42 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS2300
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP3
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby scotweather » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:07 am

For me restarting cumulus didn't make a difference.
Image

User avatar
scotweather
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:42 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS2300
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP3
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby scotweather » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:24 pm

I hate to tell you this but.... I have the exact same problem in 1.9.1
Enter a value in the weather diary the other day it displayed now when I put an entry in for today, cumuluswebtags shows $snowdepth to be 0 (zero).

So its doing exactly the same even an application restart didn't sort the problem.

I've attached my debug file and log.xml again
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25090
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby steve » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:54 pm

scotweather wrote:I hate to tell you this but.... I have the exact same problem in 1.9.1

I'm not surprised, because I haven't done anything to fix the problem.

I've attached my debug file

The new error message goes to the diags file, not the debug log.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
scotweather
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:42 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS2300
Operating System: Windows XP Home SP3
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby scotweather » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:31 pm

I've attached the diag files from 1st December 2010 through to todays.
I upgraded to 1.9.1 on the 2nd December so if anything is obvious from yesterday and today you might find what's going on.
Hope I've attached the right files you need.

Thanks

Kate

p.s. there is an error in the diags files "Error reading diary file: ClientDataSet1: Missing data provider or data packet"
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25090
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Snow Depth in Cumulus 1.9.0

Postby steve » Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:39 pm

scotweather wrote:Error reading diary file: ClientDataSet1: Missing data provider or data packet

That's a shame, that's the same sort of error you get when the file is corrupt. But at least it proves that the problem is number 3 in my list. I'll see what I can come up with.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Return to “Cumulus 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest