Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:42 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 7:29 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
My WMR200 has arrived and I've started writing the code (the sensors are scattered around the office). One thing I hadn't appreciated about this device is that the logger has a vast capacity - over 27,000 entries. The station operates in a different way to all other stations which Cumulus supports. Other stations (those that have loggers) are continuously writing to the logger as well as sending live data. The WMR200, on the other hand, has two modes of operation; 'logging' and 'live'. As long as an application is reading live data, it doesn't bother logging it itself.

When an application starts up and starts downloading the stored logger data from a WMR200, the station sends live data along with the logger data, and the application is supposed to handle both sets of data. Unfortunately, Cumulus is simply not designed to work this way. While it's downloading logger data, it doesn't process live data, and there's no easy way that I can change it to do that (but possibly in Cumulus 2 I'll be able to). This does mean that even for existing stations, if the logger download takes a long time, you get a 'gap' in the Cumulus logs for the period it took to download the data.

For other stations, if this is an issue for anyone, you can always force Cumulus to go back and download the logger data for the 'gap' period. Because of the way the WMR200 works, this isn't an option. The problem is also bigger for the WMR200 because of the size of the logger. Apparently a 'full' logger can take 8 hours to download!

So, to come to the point, this is firstly a warning so that you know what's coming. Secondly, I'm interested to know how much of an issue this will be - WMR200 users, how do you (or will you) use the WMR200 logger? Will you tend to leave it for long periods without downloading the logger data? If you weren't planning to leave it for more than 24 hours, say, then even at the 1-minute interval it would only take about 20 minutes to download the data (hence a 20-minute 'gap' in the Cumulus logs), so it's less of an issue.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 6:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:51 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Hengelo (The Netherlands)
Weather Station: WMR-200
Operating System: Win. 7 86x
Hi Steve,

I would normally download the logger information two times a day, the interval is on two minutes.
But when you would go away for the weekend or for summer holydays (2-3 weeks) it is a different situation.

But nice to see you work on it. :)

_________________
Tonny

.....Sensor not found. Should I fake it? (Y/N)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 122
Location: Nr Ilkley, West Yorks, UK
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 7
Hi Steve,

Thanks for updating us. I'm just trying to understand the scope of the problem and how it relates to the existing way Cumulus is written. I'm guessing that data downloaded from the WMR200 is date and time stamped (although I don't actually know). Now I'm not suggesting you re-write Cumulus just for the sake of a few WMR200 users but is there no way to re-write a portion of code that can handle and re-order date and time stamped data (assuming all data is essentially stored as a simple database in Cumulus)? Or have I completely misunderstood the way Cumulus operates? :?

For me personally it probably wont be an issue as I have my WMR200 connected to a netbook 24/7 but obviously there are times when the netbook may get rebooted or possibly shut down for holiday periods. These are the times when data would be lost for me. But I'm not so anal about capturing every single millisecond of weather data ;)

_________________
bigmac
Menston Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 1:54 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
bigmac wrote:
Now I'm not suggesting you re-write Cumulus just for the sake of a few WMR200 users but is there no way to re-write a portion of code that can handle and re-order date and time stamped data (assuming all data is essentially stored as a simple database in Cumulus)? Or have I completely misunderstood the way Cumulus operates?

It's not just a case of handling out-of-sequence data and getting it in the right order in the logs; that wouldn't be too hard in itself. It's the fact that Cumulus doesn't simply log the raw data as read from the station, it performs its own processing on the data to get the items that it needs for its logs. It has to work this way because it has to work with a number of different types of station which all supply data in different ways.

So it uses the same code and data structures to handle logger data as it does for live data, using a timestamp of 'now' for live data, and the logger timestamp for logger data, and there's just no way for it to handle data coming in simultaneously for two different periods in time. A quick reboot, or even switching off overnight (or for a couple of days) isn't an issue, as this would result in very little data being ignored, but processing 20,000 logger entries will definitely cause a large gap in the log.

I could argue that anyone who is really concerned about getting every last scrap of data should be running their PC 24/7 anyway ;)

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 122
Location: Nr Ilkley, West Yorks, UK
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 7
OK, I think I'm understanding it better now.
Could it be a case then that at startup Cumulus takes the live data feed and then a seperate program could fetch the historical data from the logger and present it back to Cumulus in a format that it can handle, i.e. similar to how other loggers operate and feed their data to Cumulus? This would then provide the historical data.

I'm probably being completely naive as to the amount of programming required to do this :) and have a complete lack of understanding of how the logger works. And there's also no reason why you should put so much work into solving this for us other than the fact I think you like a challenge!

_________________
bigmac
Menston Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 2:55 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
bigmac wrote:
Could it be a case then that at startup Cumulus takes the live data feed and then a seperate program could fetch the historical data from the logger and present it back to Cumulus in a format that it can handle, i.e. similar to how other loggers operate and feed their data to Cumulus? This would then provide the historical data.

There's just no way that it could handle data arriving completely out of sequence with the way it is written, because of things like doing the end-of-day entry to dayfile.txt - it needs the full day's data to be able to do that. It has to catch up from where it left off before it can start handling live data.

It would have to do it the other way around to what you propose; storing away the live data while it was processing the logger data, and then process the stored live data as if it were logger data. And while it was doing that, it would have to store away the live data... etc. It would only be able to display some of the 'live' data while it was doing this as it wouldn't be able to calculate today's rainfall (for example) in every situation. And this would all require large changes to the existing code.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 122
Location: Nr Ilkley, West Yorks, UK
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 7
Hmmm, OK I see the problem.
As I said, for me, not too much of an issue as I do run a 24/7 connection anyway.
Keep us informed of progress :D

_________________
bigmac
Menston Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 4:17 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
bigmac wrote:
Keep us informed of progress :D

I currently have it reading wind, temperature and humidity from 'live' data. I need to finish the reading of the live data and then start on the logger stuff. Then we can see how big an issue it is.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 8:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 422
Location: L'Estartit, Spain
Weather Station: WMR-88
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Steve -

I am considering a WMR 200, perhaps, July when I visit the US - obviously a price issue between the price in Spain and the price in the US.

I would operate the WMR 200 on a 24 hr basis as I do now with my 968 so the logger issue should not be a problem for me.

Perhaps you might clear up a technical point on the WMR-200 for me. How is the wind bearing outputted. Is it as the 968 in one degree increments or is it in quadrants? Quadrants may be a problem for my Catalan wind naming routine as the winds are not based on the usual 16 quadrants. See: http://www.wheelocknet.net/cumulus/wind.html?gb.

George Wheelock

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 7:13 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
gwheelo wrote:
Perhaps you might clear up a technical point on the WMR-200 for me. How is the wind bearing outputted. Is it as the 968 in one degree increments or is it in quadrants? Quadrants may be a problem for my Catalan wind naming routine as the winds are not based on the usual 16 quadrants.

It supplies 16 'directions', from 0 to 15 (N to NNW) and Cumulus converts these into degrees by multiplying by 22.5 (and rounding). So you would only ever see 0, 22, 45... etc

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 422
Location: L'Estartit, Spain
Weather Station: WMR-88
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Quote:
It supplies 16 'directions', from 0 to 15 (N to NNW)


Bummer - that is a real show stopper for me!

GW

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:52 am
Posts: 4
Location: Morehead City, North Carolina, United States
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR100N
Operating System: Windows 7
Will the WMR100N be supported as well? I think the protocol for the WMR200 and WMR100N are pretty much the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 4:28 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
ctccbc wrote:
Will the WMR100N be supported as well?


Hopefully, yes, but I haven't bought one of those, so it will be a little bit harder.

Quote:
I think the protocol for the WMR200 and WMR100N are pretty much the same.

No, they're considerably different.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 1:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:51 am
Posts: 108
Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
Operating System: Win2k SP4@VIA EPIA800
Hm, there are two versions of WMR100, older - all-in-one setup
Image

and newer which uses same components/accessories/sensors as WMR200, OregonScientific protocol 3.0
Image
Quote:
Works wirelessly ONLY with the WMR80, WMR90, WMR100 and WMR200 wireless weather station products using Protocol 3.0


:roll:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR200 logger operation
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 6:48 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20448
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
Quote:
there are two versions of WMR100

As far as I am aware the protocol between the station and the PC is the same for the two types of WMR100, and is considerably different to that used by the WMR200.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group