Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Aledger1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:34 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Horsham

Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby Aledger1 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:50 pm

Hi

I'm relatively new to all this weather technology:? Does anyone know if it is possible to run both Cumulus and Davis Weatherlink software at the same time. I set up the virtual serial port on COM3 which works fine if running one or the other but if I have Cumulus running and I try to download data in Weatherlink it comes up with an error (opening COM3 or in use by another program) and wont let me run it unless I close Cumulus. I am running a Davis Vantage VUE and have logged a reasonable amount of data in the software and there is some functionality I like about it so would like to use both. I use Cumulus to upload data to Met WOW automatically. It would be good if I could run both without having to close one or the other. Any ideas?

Many thanks

Andrew

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26655
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby steve » Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:21 pm

You can't run two programs with the same station at the same time unless you use something to 'mediate' between them such as Virtual VP. But note that there may be issues with Virtual VP depending on firmware versions etc, which is why Virtual VP is currently free and unsupported.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby PaulMy » Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:28 pm

I, like several others, shut down Cumulus for a brief time to run WL and have it update its data. My logger setting is at 10 minutes so I have 17 days before it overwrites therefore I do the Cumulus shut down and WL startup on the first and fifteenth of each month to maintain the data.

Virtual VP was just too unreliable especially with WL when I upgraded my computer.

Enjoy,
Paul

Aledger1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:34 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Horsham

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby Aledger1 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:38 pm

Thank you. I currently log in 5 min intervals so I might just change that to 10 mins so I don't have to download the data so frequently into WL.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2543
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:32 pm

Still running Virtual VP here on a Windows XP netbook. WeatherLink and Cumulus non-stop for nearly 7 years. Can I claim a prize? :lol:
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby PaulMy » Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:50 pm

Ray
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2543
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:54 pm

:lol: Thank you Paul. That made me laugh.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

Bieddos
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:55 pm
Weather Station: Vantage 2 pro
Operating System: win 8

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby Bieddos » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:01 pm

hi, but if i use always cumulus i lose the data when i use Weatherlink? Cumulus dowload the data from dataloggger?

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2543
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby RayProudfoot » Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:04 pm

Bieddos wrote:hi, but if i use always cumulus i lose the data when i use Weatherlink? Cumulus dowload the data from dataloggger?


I see you're running Windows 8 which means you can't use Virtual VP. That requires Windows XP. So you have to decide which you want to run. Cumulus hopefully as you're in the Cumulus forum. :D
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26655
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby steve » Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:45 pm

Bieddos wrote:hi, but if i use always cumulus i lose the data when i use Weatherlink? Cumulus dowload the data from dataloggger?
Yes, both Weatherlink and Cumuus download data from the logger.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby PaulMy » Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:43 pm

One Davis VP2 Plus ISS...

My weather computer is Windows 8, and a few months ago started again to use VVP and that worked fine for both Weatherlink and Cumulus 1 for most of the time, but there were stoppages. This is my main system with USB datalogger and Envoy to PC, Cumulus 1 and komokaweather.com.

On a second, Vue, console I am using the WiFiLogger and had tested Cumulus MX on this as TCP/IP with some success - sometimes running several days, and other times with crashes several times a day. Using Weatherlink 6.02 and CumulusMX gave more frequent crashes so not doing this anymore.

At the moment I am running the USB datalogger and Envoy for Cumulus 1 only, except twice a month shut down of Cumulus and run WL 6.02 to keep the WL data up to date.
Also using the WiFiLogger/Vue console to upload to weatherlink.com (version 2) and to second PWS, CWOP and WU sites.

Enjoy,
Paul

archae86
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 4:46 pm
Weather Station: Davis Wireless Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby archae86 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:06 pm

Bieddos wrote:hi, but if i use always cumulus i lose the data when i use Weatherlink? Cumulus dowload the data from dataloggger?
"Download" does not mean "erase".

I use both Cumulus and Weatherlink. Day by day it is Cumulus, continuously running, keeping up to date itself, and transmitting my data to both my own web site built by Cumulus and to Weather Underground. Once every three to nine days I stop Cumulus, start Weatherlink, and click the button to download the station. Then I stop Weatherlink, start Cumulus, and things are back to their steady state.

As my sampling interval is set to five minutes, the datalogger has room for just over nine days of data with the newest data continuously over-writing the oldest data. If I am away for more than ten days, or if I forget my intended procedure, only then is there a "hole" in Weatherlink's record of my data. So each program has a full record.

Neither program erases logger data in normal running, they just cannot run at the same time.
My cumulus generated weather site is at http://pastoll.info/weather

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Davis Weatherlink and Cumulus simultaneously

Postby PaulMy » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:08 pm

they just cannot run at the same time.

unless you can successfully run VVP ;)

Weatherlink.com (v2.0) looks quite nice so am running that also. Not all features available on the free version though.

Enjoy,
Paul


Return to “Davis VP/VP2/Vue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest