Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Topcat
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:21 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby Topcat » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:01 pm

Hi All,

I have recently upgraded from a Wizard 3 to a Vanatge Pro and tried to use existing sensors where possible. Due to sensor locations and location of ISS (indoors) I was informed that I could use the exsiting 4 core weather wizard 3 cable to connect the temp/humidity sensor of the "new" vanatage Pro as the outside conductors in the RJ11 are not used (white & blue) The RJ11 plug of the VP temp/hum sensor has 6 conductors, hence my concern as the original cable is only 4 core. Now that it is installed the Humidity sensor constantly displays 100%, temp display working OK.

The sensor worked perfectly OK when plugged into the ISS with only the original cable length.

Have I been unfortanate in this install OR, I do actually need to purchase a 6 core cable run? Cable run is about 13 mtrs.

Thanks

Steve

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby mcrossley » Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:07 pm

Pins 1, 2, 3, and 6 are used on the VP2 T/H sensor connector.

Topcat
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:21 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby Topcat » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:53 pm

Hi Mark,

Thank you. I have this data at hand, bear in mind I have Vantage Pro console. Are you able to confirm pinouts? I'm hoping this is the problem and I have couple of wires wrong! Your post appears to confirm this.

I have not connected blue & white (outside conductors)


IMG_1783.jpg


IMG_1782.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby mcrossley » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:18 pm

Ah, the old analogue sensor. I've never seen one myself. There is this wiring diagram for an old Davis junction box that seems to confirm your manual extract...

http://www.sloweather.com/blog/2011/110912WMIIjbox.png

Topcat
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:21 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby Topcat » Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Hi Mark,

This implies that the wiring is correct? Correct?

Cheers

Steve

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby mcrossley » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:57 pm

Yes, so you could use a 4 core cable, but not wired to the central four pins.

Topcat
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:21 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby Topcat » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:27 pm

mcrossley wrote:Yes, so you could use a 4 core cable, but not wired to the central four pins.


Hi Mark, you mean use the four central connectors. This I have done so implies I have been unfortunate and the sensor has packed up!

Cheers

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby mcrossley » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:41 pm

No, I said you cannot use the central for pins. You can use a four core cable, but your extension plug/socket will have to be rewired to use pins 1, 2, 3 and 6

Topcat
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:21 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby Topcat » Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:25 pm

Hi Mark,

Thanks, I note red and black are both ground. PIN numbers I guess looking on the internet are standard RJ12 pins.

Cheers

Steve

Topcat
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:21 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Temp/humidity sensor 4 core/6 core cable

Postby Topcat » Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:44 am

Morning Mark,

Sorry to be a pain but please correct me if I’m wrong. You have been relating to pins on ISS socket (123&6) and I have been referring to pins on plug. Think that’s why I’m slightly confused.
Four core cable but connected to pins you suggest.
Cheers

Steve


Return to “Davis VP/VP2/Vue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests