Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus cannot read data

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
katdoc
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis vantage Pro2 24h
Operating System: windows 10 business x64
Location: asprovalta
Contact:

Cumulus cannot read data

Postby katdoc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:36 am

Hello guys!

Ive gone mad.My kid must have done something and suddenly all the data are not shown in cumulus.They still exist in the folder though.Thats the weird thing.The interval is set in 10 minutes in cumulus and weatherlink.Can you suggest something else? Thanks in advance!!

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2469
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:35 am

The log file will tell you what the problem is. It's in the log folder under Cumulus. Although the file extension is numeric you can open then with Notepad (or better still,Notepad++). Free download.

Zip up the latest log and post here. Someone should be able to work out what's happened.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

katdoc
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis vantage Pro2 24h
Operating System: windows 10 business x64
Location: asprovalta
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby katdoc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:30 am

ok thanks. Its been 3 years since everything worked great and i forgot the various settings etc
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2469
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:51 pm

Wrong files I'm afraid. Go to the Diags folder and upload the latest file. You'll probably have a few as a new one is created each time Cumulus is started. It will be named similar to cumulus.003 - probably a different file extension number.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26467
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby steve » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:22 pm

I had a quick look at some of the files you uploaded, and for some reason your Cumulus history only goes back to 17th March 2018, so something happened on your computer at or just before that point which caused Cumulus to run as if it were a new installation at that time. It's not possible to say what that might have been (but possibly related to which directory you had Cumulus installed in).
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

katdoc
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis vantage Pro2 24h
Operating System: windows 10 business x64
Location: asprovalta
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby katdoc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:26 pm

thanks a lot!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2469
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:38 pm

I’m afraid I can’t determine what the problem is but as Steve has already replied to you I’m sure he’ll have the answer.

I also run Cumulus 1 from a VP2 and it’s extremely reliable. Hop you get things sorted soon. :)
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26467
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby steve » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:38 pm

21/3/2018 10:18:59.198 : "I:\Program Files (x86)\Cumulus\cumulus.exe"

As above, this is probably your problem. See the FAQ about what happens when Cumulus is installed in the Program Files hierarchy. The files are located in a different place depending on whether Cumulus runs with admin privilege or not.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

katdoc
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis vantage Pro2 24h
Operating System: windows 10 business x64
Location: asprovalta
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby katdoc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:12 pm

Guys thanks for the responses.I created missing data from dayfile.txt and it fixed.Then i edited the highs and lows manually. Its the most reliable software , such simple to use and with great support. I run it from 2009 on this computer without problems.It cant be more stable. Last couple of years i dont have time for these things and i kinda lost contact.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2469
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:22 pm

:clap: Glad you're sorted. Not sure where asprovalta is though? Country? ;)
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

katdoc
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis vantage Pro2 24h
Operating System: windows 10 business x64
Location: asprovalta
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby katdoc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:35 pm

Asprovalta is a village near thessaloniki in Central Macedonia Greece.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2469
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:42 pm

Thanks. I went on holiday to Halkidiki in 1981. Lovely part of the world. :)
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

katdoc
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis vantage Pro2 24h
Operating System: windows 10 business x64
Location: asprovalta
Contact:

Re: Cumulus cannot read data

Postby katdoc » Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:44 pm

Yeah we are very close to Halkidiki! im glad you enjoyed it! Thanks


Return to “Davis VP/VP2/Vue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests