Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Daylight Savings

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Daylight Savings

Postby Mapantz » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:17 am

For the first time since owning it, my Pro2 console time didn't move forward. I had to manually do it this morning. I checked the timezone, that's set to Greenwich. Daylight savings is turned on and set to auto. I cannot work out why it didn't change?

It's not a huge problem. But, I wondered if anyone else has encountered this before?
Image
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby PaulMy » Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:33 pm

We had our DST a couple weeks ago and like all years in the past, VP2, Vue and Cumulus consoles changed automatically, as did Cumulus and Weatherlink data files. My consoles are both plugged in to power and have batteries.

Paul

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby Mapantz » Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:26 pm

PaulMy wrote:We had our DST a couple weeks ago and like all years in the past, VP2, Vue and Cumulus consoles changed automatically, as did Cumulus and Weatherlink data files. My consoles are both plugged in to power and have batteries.

Paul


My VUE console moved forward too, and like you, both have batteries and are plugged in. I just can't understand why it didn't move forward, very strange.

I've just noticed that the console isn't keeping very good time either. I set it precisely to the PC time this morning, and the console clock would show a minute change at exactly the same time as the PC. Right now, it is 4 seconds out of sync.
Image
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5185
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby mcrossley » Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:53 pm

Have you switched off the Cumulus time sync feature? That should set your console to match your computer time once a day.

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby Mapantz » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:04 pm

mcrossley wrote:Have you switched off the Cumulus time sync feature? That should set your console to match your computer time once a day.


Hi Mark

That's checked. I didn't know Cumulus can control the console clock. Obviously, that hasn't been working for me. I presume clocks go forward and back at 2am?! I adjusted the console clock around 7am this morning, so five hours passed without it moving forward or synchronising.
Image
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5185
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby mcrossley » Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:40 pm

By default it sets the console time at 04:00. Both my consoles changed over automatically, one connected to CMX the other standalone.

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby Mapantz » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:43 am

I've come back to this as I have noticed my console time is out of sync with my computer/CMX time again. I have the option checked in CMX to sync it, but it doesn't seem to make any difference. The console is ahead by 3 seconds and it'll keep increasing over the coming months. I have to manually set the the console time to the PC time when I see that it's happened.

Code: Select all

SyncDavisClock=1
ClockSettingHour=4


No idea why it won't sync..
Image
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26619
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby steve » Sat Jul 07, 2018 11:09 am

There should be some logging in the diags file when/if it tries to set the time, near the beginning of the file (i.e. just after startup) and then again just after 0400. May show something useful.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
HRVistaWeather
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Home (64bit)
Location: Franklin, Huon Valley, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby HRVistaWeather » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:01 am

Hi Mapantz,

I highly doubt this would cause your issue, however noticed you are still running "Davis Console Firmware Version:3.15"
Current version is 3.80
Kind regards,
Tony
Huon River Vista - South Franklin Weather - Tasmania
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus - FARS, Cumulus MX, 2 Soil Temp/Moist Solar/Rad.
Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby Mapantz » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:45 pm

Hi there

Sorry for the late reply. Been out enjoying this heatwave. :D

Code: Select all

2018-07-05 22:34:34.485 Standard time zone name:   GMT Standard Time
2018-07-05 22:34:34.486 Daylight saving time name: GMT Summer Time
2018-07-05 22:34:34.486 Daylight saving time? True
2018-07-05 22:34:34.486 05/07/2018 22:34:34


That's in my diags. I manually synced the console clock on Friday, but it's back to around 1.5 seconds ahead of my PC clock.

I don't remember having this issue when I first got my console. The clock didn't go forward at the end of March, as I mentioned in the start of this thread. I have never touched the console in the 30 months it has been on the wall. I only checked to see if daylight saving was turned on, which it was.

re firmware Tony; I may update it later, although I don't like doing in in case there's a failure. :lol:
Image
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26619
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby steve » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:57 pm

But later in the diags file there should be something about setting the console clock and reading it.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby Mapantz » Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:36 pm

steve wrote:But later in the diags file there should be something about setting the console clock and reading it.


Out of a 5 day log file, this is the only instance:

Code: Select all

2018-07-05 22:34:35.337 Reading console time
2018-07-05 22:34:36.849 25-22-16-05-07-76-6A-36
2018-07-05 22:34:36.849 Console clock: 05/07/2018 22:34:37
Image
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26619
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Daylight Savings

Postby steve » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:43 am

It's apparently not attempting to set the station clock (otherwise there would be messages locked about it immediately before those lines, just after it prints the "Last update time = " message). I'm afraid I have no idea why that would be, if you had the setting selected at the time of that startup. You don't have another instance of the SyncDavisClock setting in the cumulus.ini file?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job


Return to “Davis VP/VP2/Vue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests