Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

VP2 datalogger

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
User avatar
laulau
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

VP2 datalogger

Postby laulau » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:53 pm

Hi,
Someone gave me a VP2 station(6312EU model 6152FR) in working order :) but without datalogger.

Is the BelfryBoy USB clone a good solution ?
Also fo CMX on a PI ?
Is it possible to update the console firmware with this clone?
If yes is it necessary ? i have 1.9 ?
Thanks in advance for your advices.
Laurent

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1674
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: VP2 datalogger

Postby PaulMy » Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:30 pm

Congratulations on getting that, and presume in good working order?

I have not read any issues with using the BellfryBoy logger. I don't have one and don't know how it would be set up without the Weatherlink software. And sorry can't answer your other questions.

Enjoy,
Paul

BCJKiwi
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: VP2 datalogger

Postby BCJKiwi » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:26 pm

Should be no issues.

Have made a few loggers myself using the same components and they work just the same as the genuine Davis USB logger in all respects.

However, if you do not have the genuine logger and the Weatherlink software, then you will need software to make changes to the settings on the console for interval, speed etc. BelfryBoy does have a program for this which he has made avaialable here http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=13574.msg141412#msg141412 but he may supply it with the logger.

User avatar
laulau
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: VP2 datalogger

Postby laulau » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:08 pm

Hi,
Have my logger installed.
I noticed a strange behaviour with the archive reading.
Logging is set to 5 mins in Cumulus and station (with WL6).
If i connect WL to get the archived data at for example 17H32 , the last record i get is from 17:30 that"s fine.
Just after (at 17:34) i run Cumulus1 the las record i get is from 17:25, :o . the data from 17:30 isn't read.
Did someone encounter the same probleme ?

EDIT: time are the same on PC and VP2
Laurent

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1674
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: VP2 datalogger

Postby PaulMy » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:31 pm

Yes I get the same one missing interval when stopping and restarting Cumulus. If I recall correctly that has been mentioned before here on the forum - I think by Steve but not 100% sure.

Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26654
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: VP2 datalogger

Postby steve » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:49 pm

The Davis DLL which Cumulus 1 uses never downloads the latest archive record.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
laulau
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: VP2 datalogger

Postby laulau » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:12 pm

PaulMy wrote:... If I recall correctly that has been mentioned before here on the forum - I think by Steve but not 100% sure.
Enjoy,
Paul

The memory is still good. ;)
And to say that I did not take the time to search the forum :oops:
Thanks
I will test with CMX in the next days :!:
Laurent

Image


Return to “Davis VP/VP2/Vue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest