Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:50 pm
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 31
Weather Station: Lacross, Oregon Scientific WMR-9
Operating System: win XP pro
HI all,
we have got a new Davis vantage pro2 weather station. I am willing to use cumulus with it. As I expected i could not get cumulus workin when i tried connecting vantage pro 2 via usb. Now i got a couple of gender changer connectors and am able to connect it to the PC via serial port. But sadly i am still not able to get any data from cumulus.

Error i get is error 32701, while trying to initialise the station.

any suggestions are appreciated

Thanks
Akshay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:46 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20357
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
By 'gender changers' do you mean a USB to serial adapter? I'm not really sure how that would work.

But the best way to use a USB VP2 with Cumulus is to use the software which Davis supply. It's the called the "CP210X USB to serial converter" and you can download it here: http://www.davisnet.com/support/weather/software_driver.asp

The driver creates a 'virtual' serial port which Cumulus can connect to. If you've already used the Weatherlink software in USB mode, you will need to run it again to set the station into serial mode before you can use Cumulus.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 31
Weather Station: Lacross, Oregon Scientific WMR-9
Operating System: win XP pro
Hi steve
many thanks for your reply..
but when i try to install cp210x usb converter...i get the error saying: "this application has failed to start because CP210xManufacturing.dll was not found."

Also if i install this driver, do i have to install weather link before i start cumulus or just install the driver and get on with cumulus.

thanks
akshay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 31
Weather Station: Lacross, Oregon Scientific WMR-9
Operating System: win XP pro
Hi steve
many thanks for your reply..
but when i try to install cp210x usb converter...i get the error saying: "this application has failed to start because CP210xManufacturing.dll was not found."

Also if i install this driver, do i have to install weather link before i start cumulus or just install the driver and get on with cumulus.
I have WeatherLink 5.8.1 installed on my PC for now but i hav not used it yet.

thanks
akshay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 31
Weather Station: Lacross, Oregon Scientific WMR-9
Operating System: win XP pro
hii,
just got the driver runnin...it runs when it is executed from within weatherlink directory..
but still some prob, as when i ran it, it said "No devices attached. communication error" . but vantage pro 2 is all connected to my pc via usb. any clues why this error isthere??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 12:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:28 pm
Posts: 31
Weather Station: Lacross, Oregon Scientific WMR-9
Operating System: win XP pro
thanks for ur guidance steve....just got cumulus working downloading VCP drivers from http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/page ... ivers.aspx also helped.....thanks.. :clap:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:52 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20357
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
I was going to suggest downloading the drivers from Silicon Labs, I know a few people have used those, but I thought it should work anyway with the 'official' drivers from Davis. Strange. But good that it's working now.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem with vantage pro2
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 1700
Location: World...
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
steve wrote:
I was going to suggest downloading the drivers from Silicon Labs, I know a few people have used those, but I thought it should work anyway with the 'official' drivers from Davis. Strange. But good that it's working now.
Steve the 'official' drivers from Davis Instruments are old and not fully compatible with the latest releases of Windows...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group