Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

MX 3043 Issues

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
jlmr731
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:11 am
Weather Station: Davis vantage pro 2
Operating System: Debian
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Contact:

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby jlmr731 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:27 am

This is because you used sudo crontabe -e
This command opens the root crontab so when you put in $HOME/pi/cumu.sh this would be the same as /root/pi/cumu.sh

So first where to you have (what directory) do you have cumulus installed in?
like /home/pi/cumulus
so lets say thats where it is you should have a normal user named "pi" and that can log into your system. so when user "pi" logs on its home directory will be /home/pi so to run cumulus you would (after log in) cd cumulus (or CumulusMX depending what you named the directory) then run sudo mono CumulusMX.exe and the programs runs.

now to make a you script run with the cron system you have 2 ways
1. log in to system with user "pi" then make you crontab enter the command crontab -e and enter you commands (notice there is no sudo befor crontab -e)
I would also recommend using the absolute path to you cumu.sh script like /home/pi/cumu.sh
This would be the recommended way to do it

2. you can edit the roots crontab that you now have by running sudo crontab-e then where you have $HOME/pi/cumu.sh change it to /home/pi/cumu.sh
and run it like that.


now to help you out a bit ONLY run sudo when you have too its only needed to use when editing system files or need special privileges to stuff like mono to run cumulus.
If you are unsure what directory you have cumulus install ie like you log in with a different username you can always type at the prompt pwd this will show the full path to where you are.

when you put in $HOME that will go to the home directory of the current user within crontab or scripts that you may make and run. I find it always best to use the full directory path make ofr a little less confusion if you have multiple user log ins

Hope this clears up your issue's

User avatar
VTHokie74
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Rasbian
Location: Ashland, KY

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby VTHokie74 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:23 pm

I was never able to get the @reboot task in cron tab to work. I used Jank's alternate method using an init.d startup script that is posted in the forum here. There is a known bug on Debian Jessie with the @reboot task in cron tab. I found this workaround but never tried it.

https://rahulmahale.wordpress.com/2014/ ... -raspbian/
Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2/CumulusMX/Raspberry Pi 3

User avatar
rogerthn
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:31 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR88
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 8
Location: Trollhättan Sweden
Contact:

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby rogerthn » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:12 pm

VTHokie74 wrote:... There is a known bug on Debian Jessie with the @reboot task in cron tab...

I did not know about the bug, my "CumulusMX Raspberry" is still on Wheezy.
Thanks!
Image

vagos
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:19 pm
Weather Station: WS3083 Aercus Instruments
Operating System: Win10 + Rasrpian (Rpi1)

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby vagos » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:10 pm

nope, doesn't work.

Also it doesn't give me access to type anything more.

As VTHokie74 mentions I have also heard Jessie is bugged.

I'll try your method or I'll downgrade my Debian
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jlmr731
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:11 am
Weather Station: Davis vantage pro 2
Operating System: Debian
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Contact:

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby jlmr731 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:54 pm

vagos wrote:nope, doesn't work.

Also it doesn't give me access to type anything more.

As VTHokie74 mentions I have also heard Jessie is bugged.

I'll try your method or I'll downgrade my Debian


Dont know anything about the @reboot bug but i dont use pi

vagos yes you have a crontab for user pi what you see is that it just started a new one once you add your entry and save it.
Looks like the user pi does not have its default config files so it likely used vi as the default editor and you will have to look up vi to understand how it works or you can change what editor you want.
or just use what VTHokie74 posted, I see no need to downgrade there are other ways do do what you want.

BigOkie
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby BigOkie » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:23 pm

vagos wrote:nope, doesn't work.

Also it doesn't give me access to type anything more.

As VTHokie74 mentions I have also heard Jessie is bugged.

I'll try your method or I'll downgrade my Debian


you'd be better off running CumuluxMX on pi as root. I know a bunch of (dumb) people say you shouldn't but if it's your setup you should be able to set it how you'd like.

Jessie works just fine for me and has since September of last year when I loaded pi. You just need to know how to set it up to work. I could never get it to run properly as pi. Always had to make it run as root.

EDIT: Heres how to enable root on the Pi.

http://www.raspberry-projects.com/pi/co ... privileges

User avatar
VTHokie74
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Rasbian
Location: Ashland, KY

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby VTHokie74 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:47 pm

vagos wrote:nope, doesn't work.

Also it doesn't give me access to type anything more.

As VTHokie74 mentions I have also heard Jessie is bugged.

I'll try your method or I'll downgrade my Debian


If I understand correctly you wrote your own script to start CumulusMX at boot? Were you aware of Jank's Start/Stop script? It does that and more. The post with the download is pinned in the CumulusMX forum. I use that and use his alternate method of running an init.d start script at reboot.

Also have you updated your system by running sudo apt-get update and then sudo apt-get dist-upgrade ?
Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2/CumulusMX/Raspberry Pi 3

vagos
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:19 pm
Weather Station: WS3083 Aercus Instruments
Operating System: Win10 + Rasrpian (Rpi1)

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby vagos » Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:11 pm

Thank you all for your efforts to make my Rpi running as I want it.

@VTHokie 74: Yes I'm aware of the script but since crontab doesnt work, I was stuck. Since the nice guys are helping me with a script file I was going for that.

@BigOkie: I was following the steps. I have created a password for the su user but when I try to log in (either as su or root), it says access denied.

If I login as pi user and then "su" that, the password works
By typing

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/ssh/sshd_config


So another wall.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jlmr731
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:11 am
Weather Station: Davis vantage pro 2
Operating System: Debian
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Contact:

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby jlmr731 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:10 am

If you want to login as root with ssh there are 2 ways to do this
1 login as your normal user then enter

Code: Select all

sudo -i    --------or it maybe sudo -s depending on your system i use -i

or
I see your sshd_config file you need to change

Code: Select all

PermitRootLogin without-password

to

Code: Select all

PermitRootLogin yes

then restart sshd

Code: Select all

sudo service ssh restart

this should now allow root login. You will be using the root password you setup with or changed it too.

BigOkie
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby BigOkie » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:26 am

vagos wrote:Thank you all for your efforts to make my Rpi running as I want it.

@VTHokie 74: Yes I'm aware of the script but since crontab doesnt work, I was stuck. Since the nice guys are helping me with a script file I was going for that.

@BigOkie: I was following the steps. I have created a password for the su user but when I try to log in (either as su or root), it says access denied.

If I login as pi user and then "su" that, the password works
By typing

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/ssh/sshd_config


So another wall.


My specific instructions provided were to enable the root account on the console only. SSH is a different story however so you have to enable it there. You can do so by logging in via SSH with a limited account and either su or sudo the ssh config file to allow a root login. You'll obviously have to restart the SSH server once you've changed the config.

EDIT: doh...noticed the post above me did exactly what you need..explain what I was talking about above. Sorry about that.

vagos
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:19 pm
Weather Station: WS3083 Aercus Instruments
Operating System: Win10 + Rasrpian (Rpi1)

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby vagos » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:31 am

Following your instructions I have managed to log in directly into root account.

Crontab entry has inside the proper text.

After everything was ok I tried to restart. Again it didn't auto run Cumu.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
VTHokie74
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Rasbian
Location: Ashland, KY

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby VTHokie74 » Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:17 pm

Have you tried the etc/init.d script that I mentioned? This worked for me. Crontab would not work on reboot.

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=14753

I had to do one additional thing to make it bullet proof. If I had a power failure at the house and the router had to reboot on power restoration I had to set the RP3 to wait on network at boot. You can change this by running "sudo raspi-config" and going to Option 3 boot options.
Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2/CumulusMX/Raspberry Pi 3

jlmr731
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:11 am
Weather Station: Davis vantage pro 2
Operating System: Debian
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Contact:

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby jlmr731 » Sat Feb 11, 2017 4:17 pm

Also what is the absolute path to your cumu.sh?
Like /root/pi/cumu.sh
or /home/pi/cumu.sh
or where is it?

Because how your cron is set up it would have to be in /root/pi/cumu.sh

now the post above with init.d may be a better option for you too to get it to work

User avatar
CBers
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:36 pm
Weather Station: N96FY
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Kent

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby CBers » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:29 pm

vagos wrote:Dear all,

Just installed both MX and stable cummulus on my win10 pc.

1) While I can connect remotely to web interface with DDNS, the dashboard says "Connection Closed..." and no data are displayed on the gauges



Finally installed CumulusMX (after running Cumulus v1 for the last few years) on my Windows 10 PC, but having similar issues.

Connecting to CumulusMX via a PC/phone/tablet works fine.

Using DDNS loads the page and the clock ticks by, but I never get any data displayed.

Both ports 8998 and 8002 are forwarded to the W10 PC running CumulusMX.

I've read the FAQ page a few times, but still no joy.

Is there anything I've missed please ??

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26313
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: MX 3043 Issues

Postby steve » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:56 pm

CBers wrote:Using DDNS loads the page and the clock ticks by, but I never get any data displayed.

Both ports 8998 and 8002 are forwarded to the W10 PC running CumulusMX.
As the OP found, this should be sufficient. Is it just the pages which use web sockets (dashboard/now/gauges) which don't work, or all of them?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests