Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Steve's Hosting Offline?

Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
User avatar
akasonny
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:43 am
Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Contact:

Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby akasonny » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:07 pm

Has anyone else who uses Steve's hosting server noticed it no longer accepts FTP connects?? Is it just me? Tried using browsers and FTP programs with no luck. Cumulus can't update my site.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26423
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby steve » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:12 pm

Your host name (cactusjunction.info) currently resolves to 50.63.202.16 but my server is 5.9.113.114.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
akasonny
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:43 am
Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby akasonny » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:38 pm

Cumulus simply says "cactusjunction.info" without the IP address so I fail to understand what has happened.

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 672
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Deb 9.3 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby Toxic17 » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:56 pm

akasonny wrote:Cumulus simply says "cactusjunction.info" without the IP address so I fail to understand what has happened.


looks like your DNS entries for your domain name are pointing to the wrong ip address.

C:\>ping cactusjunction.info

Pinging cactusjunction.info [50.63.202.3] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 50.63.202.3: bytes=32 time=200ms TTL=47
Reply from 50.63.202.3: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=47
Reply from 50.63.202.3: bytes=32 time=243ms TTL=47
Reply from 50.63.202.3: bytes=32 time=199ms TTL=47

Ping statistics for 50.63.202.3:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 197ms, Maximum = 243ms, Average = 209ms

C:\>nslookup cactusjunction.info
Server: UnKnown
Address: x.x.x.x

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: cactusjunction.info
Address: 50.63.202.3


you need to point the domain at: 5.9.113.114
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

User avatar
akasonny
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:43 am
Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby akasonny » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:43 pm

I have no understanding how this happened..nor any idea what to do fix that.

User avatar
akasonny
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:43 am
Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby akasonny » Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:06 am

Anybody?

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 672
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Deb 9.3 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby Toxic17 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:21 am

Usually your Domain registrar (who ever that is) would allow you to edit your DNS Domain Server entries. these point to where your hosting company is.

Code: Select all

Domain Name: CACTUSJUNCTION.INFO
Registry Domain ID: D30773152-LRMS
Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.godaddy.com
Registrar URL: http://www.godaddy.com


so somewhere in your account settings you will be able to change the DNS for your domain entry to point to Steve's host perhaps?

had you let the domain expire perhaps? not sure why if it was working why all of a sudden your domain is pointing elsewhere without you changing it.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26423
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby steve » Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:52 pm

You had to change the address to use my hosting in the first place, you need to do the same again. You might also want to ask your provider why it was changed to the wrong address.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

User avatar
akasonny
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:43 am
Weather Station: Zephyr TD-1000
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: Steve's Hosting Offline?

Postby akasonny » Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:49 pm

Problem solved. Godaddy screwed up the IP resolution. Grrrrrrr!


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests