Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 8:10 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No longer get data downloaded from data logger
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:06 pm
Posts: 3
Weather Station: ws2300
Operating System: windows xp
Hi I set up my WS2300 weather station from the 1st November and quickly converted on to Cumulus, which I found on the web. At some point during Nov when my PC goes down and I reboot, it has stopped down loading the missing data from the weather station. (This did work intially.)

I did have some rain anomalies in my data from when I was setting up and poured water into the rain gauge. I edited these out of the data, but I have no idea if this is when I picked up problems down loading the data logger data.

Everything else is ok. My station is connected to my on PC on serial cable not USB as I know this can cause problems. I've also seen some posts about data formats but I can't see anything wrong there. The Cumulus.ini does have datalogger set to 1. I note the ini file has a data format of 2009 whereas the data file has 09. I didn't think I had touched that!I have tried changing the ini to 09, but that's makes no difference so I've gone back to my original one.

Many thanks

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No longer get data downloaded from data logger
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:36 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20495
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
Someone else had this problem recently with a La Crosse station. When Cumulus asked for the logger data, the station said there wasn't any. You can tell if this is what is happenning to you by looking at the files in the diags folder for the cases when you know there should be data (or just zip the foler and attatch it and I'll have a look).

I can't remember what the cause, or the solution was - resetting the station, perhaps?

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No longer get data downloaded from data logger
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:06 pm
Posts: 3
Weather Station: ws2300
Operating System: windows xp
Hi Steve,

I've attached one of the files in the diag folder.

Thanks

Paul


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No longer get data downloaded from data logger
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:32 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20495
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
I'm a bit confused now - didn't you send me that file in a PM, and I replied saying that the problem was that your station clock is wrong? Or was that somone else? Old age is a terrible thing :)

2009-12-01 17:33:07 : hr=20 min=10 d=12 m=1 y=2001

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No longer get data downloaded from data logger
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:06 pm
Posts: 3
Weather Station: ws2300
Operating System: windows xp
Sorry Steve completely my fault. I hadn't seen the PM response and decided I shouldn't have used that.

Anyway spot on with your analysis. I can only think at some time the power must have dropped on the station as the time was re-set. I corrected the time and the logging interval and all is now OK. Next time I'll know where to look. I tend to use the cumulus screen all the time as the station is hard to read where it's located.

Many thanks

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group