Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 2:26 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Hello All,

First time post here.
So hello to all.

I'm in the same dilema as I'm always at at Christmas.
What weather station shoudl I get.

Have always been looking for the Davies VP 2 (but budget still won't strech that far)

Has anyone tried the WRM180 (slimed down version of the 200)
And will it work with the Cumulus software? or does it use something completly different to the 200. I know it has a wireless interface to the PC, but not sure if it in Theory at least works in the same way?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:38 pm
Posts: 515
Location: Weeley, Essex, UK
Weather Station: La-Crosse WS2300 Serial (Wired)
Operating System: Win 7
May I recommend this Station?

https://www.weathershop.co.uk/shop/tech ... ation.html

The La-Crosse WS2350 (Techno-Line) Weather Station.

Ideally connect via Serial Cable if your PC has a Serial Port to avoid any issues.

A solid Station with very little in the way of Issues.

My 10p for today :lol:

_________________
Jason Duncombe
La-Crosse WS2300 (Wired & Serial) - Cumulus V1.9.4
Check out the website www.weeley-weather.co.uk - I'm finally back online!

Image

Image


Last edited by 6719jason on Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Thanks for the information.

Can you add additional sensors if required to this, are there any UV Options on this one or anything like that, or is it what you see is what you get.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:38 pm
Posts: 515
Location: Weeley, Essex, UK
Weather Station: La-Crosse WS2300 Serial (Wired)
Operating System: Win 7
Your welcome :)

Sadly the ability to add additional Sensors to this station is not an option.

Everything you see in the photo is whats provided.

I've been running my La-Crosse since February this year and have had no real issues to date.

Previously I ran a Watson/Fine Offset and experienced issues on a Daily basis :(

The build quality has improved somewhat since then but I think if you were to compare the Fine Offset section of this forum against say Oregon or La-Crosse, I think you will notice the vast difference in posts and issues reported.

Davis and Oregon Stations generally support additional sensors (Model Dependent) and some Fine-Offset/Watson Stations have UV sensors included (I think).

_________________
Jason Duncombe
La-Crosse WS2300 (Wired & Serial) - Cumulus V1.9.4
Check out the website www.weeley-weather.co.uk - I'm finally back online!

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Just reading some of the bits about the WS2350

Have you had any problems with the 14oC indoor bug where it stops recieving data?

Will have to see what money I have, as it's my Birthday as on 1st Jan, so hoping family members are feeling in a giving mood!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Any way....

Does anyone use a WRM180, or have any experiance with them and does it work with Cumulus?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:13 am
Posts: 372
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Weather Station: La Crosse WS 2306
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
I had a La Crosse without pc connection for almost 2 years and one with pc connection for few months without any trouble. I have not generally have not had major problems with not receiving data.

_________________
Regards, Matt of Brisbane, Australia
Ferny Grove Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:38 pm
Posts: 515
Location: Weeley, Essex, UK
Weather Station: La-Crosse WS2300 Serial (Wired)
Operating System: Win 7
SJG1976 wrote:
Just reading some of the bits about the WS2350

Have you had any problems with the 14oC indoor bug where it stops recieving data?

Will have to see what money I have, as it's my Birthday as on 1st Jan, so hoping family members are feeling in a giving mood!


I haven't personally but then my station is 'wired'.

Hope they give generously! :lol:

_________________
Jason Duncombe
La-Crosse WS2300 (Wired & Serial) - Cumulus V1.9.4
Check out the website www.weeley-weather.co.uk - I'm finally back online!

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Monks Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Weather Station: WMR180
Operating System: Windows Vista
Hi

I have just got a WMR180 for Christmas and downloaded Cumulus.
It seems to work ok, the only problem is that the windchill is not always correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:17 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20207
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
george818 wrote:
Hi

I have just got a WMR180 for Christmas and downloaded Cumulus.
It seems to work ok, the only problem is that the windchill is not always correct?

I assume you're using it on the WMR 200 setting? It's possible that the packet format isn't quite the same for the WMR 180, I have no details at all about that station. You could switch to getting Cumulus to calculate the wind chill instead. If you turn on the debug log and let it run for a few minutes, then attach the debug.log file, I may be able to work out what the format is. You'll need to tell me what the actual wind chill value was at that time, and what Cumulus was displaying. I assume you're using the latest build?

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
george818 wrote:
Hi

I have just got a WMR180 for Christmas and downloaded Cumulus.
It seems to work ok, the only problem is that the windchill is not always correct?


That's good to hear.
Maybe I'll get one of these then.

What do you think of the overall package then?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Monks Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Weather Station: WMR180
Operating System: Windows Vista
Hi

I am using the setting for the WMR 100, on the WMR 200 setting after a while it stopped receiving data?
I have attached the debug file. The wind chill started at 7.3 then changed to 5.9 then to 6.6, Cumulus reading was -17.4.

I think the WMR180 is ok, i like being able to have the screen in one room and also be able to receive the data on a computer in a different room.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:27 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20207
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
george818 wrote:
I am using the setting for the WMR 100, on the WMR 200 setting after a while it stopped receiving data?
I have attached the debug file. The wind chill started at 7.3 then changed to 5.9 then to 6.6, Cumulus reading was -17.4.

If it was displaying data using the WMR200 setting, then it won't work with the WMR100 setting (and vice versa). And if it has a logger, Cumulus won't try to read the logger data if you use the WMR100 setting. I know absolutely nothing about the WMR180, I don't know what the protocol format is, and I can't suggest any reason for it stopping transmitting data. There is a setting in Cumulus to restart when data transmission stops; you could try that.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:58 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20207
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
I've had chance to look at the debug log file now. It does seem to be using the WMR100 protocol, so I assume it doesn't have a logger? The wind chill decode comes out at 5 or 6 F, around -15C. Perhaps it sends it in C rather than F - who knows? All I can suggest is that you get Cumulus to calculate the wind chill, assuming all the other readings look OK.

So, functionally, this station is basically a WMR100 with a wireless USB hub included?

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Monks Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Weather Station: WMR180
Operating System: Windows Vista
Hi

Thanks for your help.

I have left it on the WMR100 setting and letting Cumulus work out the wind chill. All seems to be working OK.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group