Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:46 pm
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:57 pm
Posts: 2
Location: USA
Weather Station: None yet
Operating System: WinXP
I've been looking at the WMR180 today, but it doesn't seem to be available in the US yet. It appears that the USB hub is visually identical to the IH300/IH600 which is used on the Oregon Scientific I300 and I600 weather stations. Do you know if these stations would work with your software? If so, do you know what the limit of sensors the I300/I600/WMR180 support? Info on this stuff seems pretty limited for some reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:28 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20461
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
bkenobi wrote:
It appears that the USB hub is visually identical to the IH300/IH600 which is used on the Oregon Scientific I300 and I600 weather stations. Do you know if these stations would work with your software?

Sorry, I have no idea. You would either have to try it, or obtain the 'protocol' for the stations from somewhere (the protocol between station and PC, not the sensor transmission protocol) and see if it is the same.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:57 pm
Posts: 2
Location: USA
Weather Station: None yet
Operating System: WinXP
I contacted OS yesterday to find out about the I300/I600 and was told that OS does not provide any support for discontinued products. As such, they would not even point me to a location on their own web site to get help. I hope others have received better support from OS because, as far as I'm concerned, they provide HORRIBLE support for a product that is still being sold (even if they don't produce it any more).

I know that the I300/I600 use THGR800 and THGR810 thermohygrometers whereas the WMR180 uses THGR801. I'm not sure what the difference is, so I don't know if those are the same sensors with an the inclusion of an external weather shroud. The only reason that makes a difference is if they have redesigned the USB hub for a new protocol (meaning it could communicate differently with the PC) or if they are simply reusing the same controller the I600 used. If it's the latter and the WMR180 works with your software, then I would guess that the I600 would have a good shot of working as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Boston
Weather Station: Oregon scientific WMR180
Operating System: Windows 7
Hi there, i was just wondering if the cumulus software works on the WMR 180 and whether the software is just a trial version or does it last for ever.
Many Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:28 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20461
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
cold winter wrote:
Hi there, i was just wondering if the cumulus software works on the WMR 180

It appears to, on the WMR100 setting, if you get Cumulus to calculate the wind chill.
Quote:
and whether the software is just a trial version or does it last for ever.

It's not a trial version.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Monks Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Weather Station: WMR180
Operating System: Windows Vista
cold winter wrote:
Hi there, i was just wondering if the cumulus software works on the WMR 180.

My WMR180 has been working fine since the end of December with Cumulus. You just have to let Cumulus calculate the wind chill and use the WMR100 setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Boston
Weather Station: Oregon scientific WMR180
Operating System: Windows 7
Ok thanks a lot, i am just trying to make up my mind on a weather station for around that price, how do you like the 180.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Monks Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Weather Station: WMR180
Operating System: Windows Vista
I like the 180, it does everything I need. I like the fact that you can have the screen in a different room to the computer.
It was easy enough to set up and get running.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Boston
Weather Station: Oregon scientific WMR180
Operating System: Windows 7
george818 wrote:
I like the 180, it does everything I need. I like the fact that you can have the screen in a different room to the computer.
It was easy enough to set up and get running.

Ok thanks, i think i will go with it, shame that the wind speed only updates at 56 seconds, but it does look great for £150.
Ryan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
If you added the Wireless USB interface connections from the WRM-180 which I believe OS sell separately to a WRM-200 what settings would Cumulas need to use?


I presume it would be the WRM-100 settings?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:27 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20461
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
I think it would still be the WMR200 settings, assuming it worked at all; I don't think the wireless hub would somehow change the protocols (which are very different).

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Be interesting if someone else tries this, I've not got the money at the moment, so it's just a nice to have, but I like the idea of having the hub connected up to a pc and then the console where I want it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Monks Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Weather Station: WMR180
Operating System: Windows Vista
SJG1976 wrote:
Be interesting if someone else tries this, I've not got the money at the moment, so it's just a nice to have, but I like the idea of having the hub connected up to a pc and then the console where I want it.

I don't know if the USB hub will work with the WMR200. On the WMR180 the screen sends the data to the hub. Does the WMR200 have this function?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WMR-180x
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Not sure by the weather shop say it works with the WRM-200

Code:
http://www.weathershop.co.uk/shop/brands/oregon-scientific/accessories/wmr-pro-bundle


And get another Solar Panel as well.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group