Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:05 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Stations
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:40 am
Posts: 2
Location: Troy, MI
Weather Station: LaCrosse WS-2315
Operating System: Windows Vista SP2
As you know, it takes a relatively long time to get data from the LaCrosse stations. I've noticed from the debugging logs that it can take up to 5 seconds or more to retrieve one set of data. This is problematic for LaCrosse stations set up to receive data every 8 seconds (wired) because the station is busy processing requests for data and is unable to retrieve current data from the sensors. I can watch the weather station console and see that it gets "stuck" and is unable to get data updates consistently from the sensors while Cumulus is running. The net effect is that many wind updates (speed and direction) get missed.

I would like to suggest that the code be modified to only request wind speed and wind direction updates every 8 seconds and the remaining sensor data be updated less frequently (every 60 seconds or even 120 seconds). It is only significant to capture wind data frequently as the other data elements do not change as fast. I have done extensive work with open2300 and know that this type of change works and will solve this problem. I think this would also benefit every other ws2300 user as well since there will be less overhead.

For another weather station application I was able to modify the open2300 software to apply a similar fix. I am currently using that software, but would love to switch over Cumulus as I think it is much better. I am also willing to help out in changing code or testing as needed.

_________________
-Kurt

http://www.reedview.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:23 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20302
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
I could consider doing this at some point, yes. But I am reluctant to change the code as I don't have a La Crosse station to test it with, and it was hard enough getting it working in the first place.

In fact, as it happens, I have just got around to moving Cumulus to the latest version of the Delphi compiler which I bought last year, and as a result I had to use a new version of the serial port component that I use for La Crosse stations. The code no longer works, and I don't know why. If I can't get it working again, I will have to drop support for La Crosse stations in future versions of Cumulus.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:13 am
Posts: 372
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Weather Station: La Crosse WS 2306
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
Steve please be careful, I do enjoy my La Crosse station with Cumulus. I hope that the support for La Crosse station continues even with the code trouble. I download twice a day from the logger and takes 2 to 4 minutes to process 100 to 140 entries.

It is slow, but recording without cable at 128 second intervals from logger helps to work around the problem. They can be strange, for example yesterday I had to restart the download after a error "cannot download history data" but worked the second time round.

I have enjoyed Cumulus and the station is working well. And thanks again for the La Crosse support, I hope it may continue.

_________________
Regards, Matt of Brisbane, Australia
Ferny Grove Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:06 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Harwich, Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WMR-88
Operating System: Windows XP SP3,
I have the WS-2350 using it on wireless and a serial connection from the La Crosse control panel to the pc and I have found no problems at all, all of my data is 100% and very fast download, keep up the good work Steve :clap:

_________________
Regards,

Geoff


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:46 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20302
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
Matt.j5b wrote:
Steve please be careful, I do enjoy my La Crosse station with Cumulus.

It's not a case of being careful, it's already broken and I can't go back to the working setup.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:26 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20302
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
steve wrote:
it's already broken

With a lot of help from Jason, I seem to have persuaded it to be unbroken again.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:06 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Harwich, Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WMR-88
Operating System: Windows XP SP3,
Well Done Steve and Jason :clap: :clap: :clap: :D :D

_________________
Regards,

Geoff


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:13 am
Posts: 372
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Weather Station: La Crosse WS 2306
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
Well thanks here too for getting unbroken again. :D :clap:
I was referring to changing the code in the future.

_________________
Regards, Matt of Brisbane, Australia
Ferny Grove Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:40 am
Posts: 2
Location: Troy, MI
Weather Station: LaCrosse WS-2315
Operating System: Windows Vista SP2
steve wrote:
I could consider doing this at some point, yes. But I am reluctant to change the code as I don't have a La Crosse station to test it with, and it was hard enough getting it working in the first place.


I would be willing to help code or test as necessary.

-Kurt

_________________
-Kurt

http://www.reedview.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:40 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela
Weather Station: WX-200 / WS-2310
Operating System: Win XP Professional
klinebau wrote:
steve wrote:
I could consider doing this at some point, yes. But I am reluctant to change the code as I don't have a La Crosse station to test it with, and it was hard enough getting it working in the first place.


I would be willing to help code or test as necessary.

-Kurt


Me too!

We have a WS-2315 at home.

_________________
Marco-Luis
YV1HX
Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela
http://www.twitter.com/meteoven


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Suggestion to Improve Response Time from LaCrosse Statio
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:13 am
Posts: 372
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Weather Station: La Crosse WS 2306
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
I am willing to help test any changes to the code with my la crosse station.

_________________
Regards, Matt of Brisbane, Australia
Ferny Grove Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group